Aiden Markram Sunrisers Eastern Cape are first champions of SA20 beat Wayne Parnell Pretoria Capitals in Finals


SA20 Final: Sunrisers Eastern Cape won the SA20 title
Defeated Pretoria Capitals by 4 wickets in the final

New Delhi. Sunrisers Eastern Cape has won the T20 League SA20 title being played for the first time in South Africa. The Sunrisers team, captained by Aiden Markram, defeated Pretoria Capitals by 4 wickets with 22 balls to spare in the final. Batting first, Pretoria Capitals scored 135 runs in 19.3 overs. In response, Sunrisers Easton Cape won the match by scoring 137 runs in 16.2 overs. With this, the Easton Cape team became the first team to win the SA20 title in the inaugural season. Interestingly, Pretoria Capitals had defeated Sunrisers Eastern Cape twice in the league stage. But, in the final, Pretoria, led by Wayne Parnell, avenged the two defeats in the final with interest.

The toss in the SA20 final was won by Sunrisers Eastern Cape captain Aiden Markram, who will play for Mayank Agarwal’s Sunrisers Hyderabad in IPL 2023. After winning the toss, Markram chose to bowl and on a slow wicket, the spin bowlers of Eastern Cape did not give the Pretoria Capitals batsmen a chance to open their hands. 38 year old spinner van der Merv bowled amazingly. He took 4 wickets for 31 runs in 4 overs of his quota.

Apart from him, Captain Markram also took 1 wicket for 17 runs in 4 overs. No ball from Pretoria Capitals could even cross the 20-run mark. Kushal Mendis scored the most runs for Pretoria with 21 runs.

Ranji Trophy: Saurashtra in the final for the 5th time, the captain single-handedly defeated Karnataka; Collision with Bengal after 3 years

Delhi’s riots also came out of Australia’s hands, understand that the game took place in Nagpur itself!

Sunrisers Eastern Cape also could not easily achieve the target of 136 runs. He also lost 6 wickets while chasing this target. Adam Rossington batted fast in the powerplay for the Eastern Cap. He hit 57 runs in 30 balls. At one time it seemed that the Sunrisers would easily achieve the target of victory. But as soon as Rossington was dismissed for 103 runs in the third wicket, the Eastern Cape’s batting faltered. 4 wickets fell within 23 runs. However, Marco Jansen’s innings of 13 runs in 11 balls gave the team the victory.

Tags: Aiden Markram, IPL 2023, mayank agarwal, south africa, Sunrisers Hyderabad

Leave a Comment