Rohit Sharma withdrew his appeal during the second ODI.
India has maintained a 2-0 lead in the series against Sri Lanka.
New Delhi. India registered a resounding victory in the second ODI against Sri Lanka (India vs Sri Lanka). Team India has maintained an unbeatable 2-0 lead in the series. An incident during the second ODI has been the subject of much discussion. In which team captain Rohit Sharma, showing his big heart, made a century for the visiting team captain Dasun Shanaka. But Team India’s spin master Ashwin (R Ashwin) has not liked Hitman’s generosity. Giving air to this issue, he has given his honest response.
R Ashviv Makad is often seen speaking about the run out. This time it was about his own team, yet Ashwin has broken his silence about it. Actually, the second ODI was completely under India’s control. In the last over, the ball was in the hands of Mohammed Shami. At the same time, the captain of Sri Lanka was standing at the other end on 98 runs. But before Shami bowled, he left the crease and Shami did not spare him. But Captain Rohit Sharma, showing a big heart, withdrew the appeal. He said after the match that he was batting on 98, we cannot get him out like this. But Ashwin has spoken openly on this decision of Hitman.
This is the right way to get out – R Ashwin
Regarding the incident of the second ODI, Ashwin said, ‘Shanaka was batting on 98, then Shami ran him out at the other end and then also appealed. Rohit withdrew that appeal. Many people tweeted on this later. I’m just repeating one thing guys, the game situation is immaterial. This is a perfect way to get out. If you appeal for LBW or catch, no one asks the captain like Sarath Kumar or Amitabh Bachchan in Kaun Banega Crorepati whether they are confident with the appeal or not.
He further said, ‘If the bowler appeals for an out and he is out, he will be declared out. If a fielder appeals, it is the duty of the umpire to give him out.
FIRST PUBLISHED : January 15, 2023, 11:29 IST