Aus vs SA ICC Women T20 world cup final Beth Mooney brave iniing Laura Wolvaardt fifty goes in vain

New Delhi. Aus vs SA ICC Women T20 world cup final Australia has captured the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup trophy played in South Africa. Batting first after winning the toss, Australia scored 156 runs for 6 wickets on the basis of Beth Mooney’s fifty. In response, the host South African team was able to score only 137 runs.

Laura Wolvaardt’s Fifty

Chasing the target for South Africa, a batsman forced the Australian bowlers to cross the boundary. Laura Wolvaardt, who started the innings, played an inning of 61 runs in 48 balls, scoring 5 fours and 3 fours. Australia got her wicket on a crucial occasion and she was dismissed after scoring a half-century.

Beth Mooney’s Fifty in the final

For Australia, opener Beth Mooney played a tremendous innings in the final. Scored 74 runs in 53 balls hitting 9 fours and 1 six. Gardner scored 29 while Alyssa Healy scored 18 runs. Captain Meg Lanning was able to contribute only 10 runs. Due to Mooney’s brilliant innings, the team scored 156 runs in front of South Africa for 6 wickets.

Most trophies in Australia’s name

In the year 2009, the England team defeated the New Zealand team and captured the Women’s T20 World Cup title for the first time. In 2010 again New Zealand team was in the final for the second consecutive time and this time it was defeated by Australia. After winning the title for the first time, Australia celebrated the World Cup hat-trick by defeating the England team twice in 2012 and 2014.

In 2016, the West Indies team defeated Australia and prevented them from winning the fourth consecutive title. After this defeat, the team came back once again and won the title of Women’s T20 World Cup first in 2018 and then in 2020 and achieved the distinction of becoming the team to capture it 5 times.

Tags: ICC T20 Women’s World Cup, Women’s T20 World Cup

Leave a Comment