Batter played the shot… and caught the ball himself, the umpire raised his finger, know under which rule he was given out


Batsman dismissed strangely in county cricket

New Delhi. The batsman played the shot and caught the ball himself. Just then did the fielding team appeal and the umpire immediately raised his finger and the batter had to return to the pavilion. Now you must have also wondered that when the ball did not hit the wicket, no fielder took the catch, then how did the umpire give the batsman out on the appeal of the fielding team just for catching the ball. Actually, this decision of the umpire is correct under the rules. Because the batter tried to obstruct the fielding by holding the ball and under the rules of MCC, the batter can be given out for doing so.

This incident happened in the match between Gloucestershire and Leicestershire in the County Championship and the out-of-favour batsman was Louis Kimber and the rule under which the umpire declared him out is called Obstructing The Field. This has been explained in detail in Rule 37 of the Marylebone Cricket Club ie MCC, the rule-making body of cricket, and in which case the batter is given out and in which condition he is not out. This has been explained in detail.

What is Obstructing the Field?
First let us tell you in which condition the batter can be given out under Obstructing The Field. Any batter who, when the ball is in the playing area, intentionally disturbs the fielding team and obstructs or distracts the attention of the fielder by verbal or any action in catching the ball, may be given out. Not only this, if the batsman intentionally tries to catch or remove the ball while playing the ball with the hand that does not have a bat, then he can be given out under the Obstructing The Field rule.

Tags: county cricket, cricket news, England, ICC Rules

Leave a Comment