BCCI suddenly made this player the captain of Team India, snatched the opportunity from Dhawan

Team India: KL Rahul has been declared fit by the medical team of the Cricket Board of India (BCCI), after which this opener has been given the command of the team for the three-match One Day International cricket series against Zimbabwe. Shikhar Dhawan was earlier appointed captain for this series, but now he will take over the role of vice-captain.

BCCI suddenly made this player the captain of Team India

Rahul was recovering from hernia operation. He was to play in the series against West Indies, but due to being found positive for Kovid-19, he could not play. Rahul was taking time to recover from the illness and hence he was not selected in the team for the Zimbabwe tour earlier. He was given time to get fit, so that he would be fully fit till the Asia Cup.

Dhawan was appointed as the vice-captain for this series.

However, the medical team has now declared Rahul fit after meeting the criteria set for the selection. Rahul is the first choice of vice-captain in all formats along with captain Rohit Sharma, so Dhawan was appointed as the vice-captain for this series when he became available.

Rituraj Gaikwad will hardly get a chance

With Rahul joining the team, the total number of team members has gone up to 16, as the selectors did not replace him with any other player. But Rahul’s presence means that Rituraj Gaikwad will hardly get a chance. Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant, Shreyas Iyer, Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami have been rested for this series. Bumrah is recovering from a back injury and will also miss the Asia Cup starting August 27 in the United Arab Emirates. Out of the team going to Zimbabwe, only Rahul and Deepak Hooda are included in the main team.

Indian squad for three ODIs against Zimbabwe:

KL Rahul (captain), Shikhar Dhawan (vice captain), Rituraj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Famous Krishna, Mohammad Siraj, Deepak Chahar.

Leave a Comment