Sunday, October 24, 2021

Ben Stokes Undergoes Second Surgery On Injured Finger Set To Miss Ashes 2021

New Delhi. England’s star all-rounder Ben Stokes has undergone a second operation for a broken finger, due to which he is sure to be out of the Ashes series. Stokes, who took an indefinite break from cricket after being out of the home series against India, had injured his left index finger while playing IPL for Rajasthan Royals four months ago. Stokes also posted a photo on Instagram on Wednesday with his wife Claire, in which his index finger is bandaged. The Ashes series will be played in December-January.

Leeds doctor Doug Campbell, who performed the first operation on Stokes’ finger in April, has also performed a second operation. Stokes’ finger will now recover faster and he will also get relief from pain. He is unlikely to return to the field in the near future. Before the India-England Test series, England took a sudden break and they are not playing in IPL 2021 as well. Also, he has not got a place in the England team for the T20 World Cup. There were speculations that Stokes might make a comeback from the Ashes series but according to the latest reports, Ashes will not play cricket this year.

Sam Karen also ruled out of T20 World Cup
England all-rounder Sam Curran has been ruled out of the World Cup due to a lower back injury. Karen is playing for Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in IPL 2021. He complained of pain during the match against Rajasthan Royals on Saturday. England won the T20 World Cup title in 2010. This setback for the English team is even bigger because all-rounder Ben Stokes and fast bowler Jofra Archer are not already in the T20 World Cup team. According to the information, after the scan, it came to know about his injury. They will return home soon. After this, the medical team of the ECB will examine them. His brother Tom Karen has been included in the team in his place.

Read also:

IPL 2021: India got speed merchant, bowls like Waqar Younis, watch video

HBD Zaheer Khan: The bowler who made India the world champion who broke the wall of religion for love

England squad for ICC T20 World Cup:
Eoin Morgan (capt), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Sam Billings, Joe Butler, Tom Karen, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, David Malan, Tymal Mills, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

Reserve players: Liam Dawson, James Vince.

Read Hindi News see more online Live TV News18 Hindi website. Know related to country and abroad and your state, Bollywood, sports world, business News in Hindi.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles