Chris Gayle has hit 1056 sixes in T20 matches, all three West Indies cricketers in top-3

New Delhi. T20 cricket means rain of fours and sixes and lots of entertainment. In the game of cricket, when the ball hits the bat and reaches outside the boundary for a straight six, the audience’s excitement reaches its peak. Talking about this season of IPL 2023, so far 705 sixes and 1361 fours have been hit in it and maximum sixes (28) have come from the bat of Faf du Plessis of Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB). But as far as maximum sixes in T20 matches are concerned, in this matter Chris Gayle of West Indies is the king and no one is even around him.

Gayle has played 463 T20 matches between 2005 and 2022 and hit 1056 sixes. Apart from this, he has also hit 1132 fours in T20 matches. Only West Indies players occupy the top three places in the list of batsmen who have hit most sixes in T20. Kieron Pollard of West Indies is second with 812 sixes in 625 matches and Andre Russell is third with 600 sixes in 446 matches. Pollard has hit 764 fours and Russell has hit 501 fours in T20 matches.

Russell is playing for Kolkata Knight Riders in IPL-2023. Pollard has retired from cricket but Gayle has still not announced his retirement from cricket. David Miller has hit 430 sixes in 438 matches and Glenn Maxwell has hit 424 sixes in 386 matches and they can soon make it to the top 10 spots in this list.

Only one Indian batsman in top-10
In the list of batsmen with most sixes in T20, Brendon McCullum is fourth with 485 sixes in 370 matches, Colin Munro is fifth with 480 sixes in 376 matches and Rohit Sharma is sixth with 472 sixes in 416 matches. Shane Watson has hit 467 sixes in 343 matches and is in seventh place. Aaron Finch is eighth with 452 sixes in 382 matches, AB de Villiers is ninth with 436 sixes in 340 matches and Alex Hales is at number 10 with 431 sixes in 389 matches.

Most sixes in IPL also in the name of Gayle
Talking about IPL, Gayle has maximum sixes in this too. Between 2009 and 2021, Gayle played 142 matches in the IPL for Kolkata Knight Riders, Kings XI Punjab (Punjab Kings) and Royal Challengers Bangalore, hitting 357 sixes. AB de Villiers, who played for RCB and Delhi Capitals, hit 251 sixes in 170 innings of 184 matches and Rohit Sharma (Deccan Chargers and Mumbai Indians) hit 250 sixes in 231 innings of 236 matches.

Tags: chris gayle, Cricket, indian premier league, IPL 2023, Kieron Pollard

Leave a Comment