DC vs KKR: Delhi Capitals win in close match, KKR’s 5th consecutive defeat

Mumbai. Delhi Capitals got their fourth win in IPL 2022 on Thursday. The team (Delhi Capitals) defeated Kolkata Knight Riders by 4 wickets in their 8th match. In the current season, the team defeated Kolkata for the second time. Playing first in the match, KKR scored 146 runs for 9 wickets. Left arm spinner Kuldeep Yadav bowled lethally. He took 4 wickets for 14 runs in 3 overs. In reply, Delhi achieved the target for 6 wickets in 19 overs. Warner was dismissed after scoring 42 runs. KKR lost their fifth match in a row. The team has so far won only 3 matches out of 9 and has lost in 6. At the same time, Delhi has lost 4 matches so far.

Came out to chase the target, although the team of Delhi Capitals could not start well. Prithvi Shaw was dismissed by Umesh Yadav on the first ball. Mitchell Marsh, who landed at number-3, could not play a big innings. He fell victim to fast bowler Harshit Rana by scoring 13 runs in 7 balls. Harshit was making his IPL debut with this match. Delhi lost 2 wickets for just 17 runs.

Warner and Lalit form half-century partnership

David Warner and Lalit Yadav tried to handle the team by adding 65 runs for the third wicket. Warner was dismissed for 42 off 26 balls by Umesh Yadav. Hit 8 fours. After this Lalit also kept walking. His wicket went to off-spinner Sunil Narine. He scored 22 runs off 29 balls. Hit a four and a six. Captain Rishabh Pant failed and became the third victim of Umesh after scoring 2 runs in 5 balls. The team lost 3 wickets at a gap of just 2 runs.

Axar and Powell take over the team

The match turned exciting after 5 wickets fell for 84 runs. After this Axar Patel and Rovman Powell took over the team. But in the pursuit of taking quick runs, Axar got run out. He scored 24 runs in 17 balls. Hits 2 fours and a six. The team had to score 34 runs in 30 balls and had 4 wickets in hand. Narine gave only 4 runs in the 16th over.

14 runs in the 17th over

Venkatesh Iyer bowled the 17th over. Powell hit a six on the first ball and a four on the fourth ball. A total of 14 runs were scored in this over and KKR lost the match. In the 18th over, Powell also hit a six in Tim Southee’s over. 12 runs were scored in the over. Powell gave victory by hitting a six on the last ball of the 19th over. Powell remained unbeaten on 33 off 16 balls. Hit one four and three sixes. At the same time, Shardul Thakur was not out after scoring 8 runs in 14 balls.

Poor start for KKR

Earlier, Delhi captain Rishabh Pant had won the toss and decided to bowl. In response, KKR had a very poor start. The team had lost 4 wickets for 35 runs. Opener Aaron Finch 3 and Venkatesh Iyer could only make 6 runs. Baba Inderjit 6 and Sunil Narine got out for zero. After this, captain Shreyas Iyer and Nitish Rana took over the team.

Russell returns to zero

Kuldeep Yadav gave a big blow to KKR in the 14th over by dismissing Iyer and Andre Russell. Iyer scored 42 runs in 37 balls. Hit 4 fours. At the same time, Russell was stumped on 3 balls without scoring a run. Nitish Rana scored a half-century to take the team’s score beyond 140 runs. He scored 57 runs off 34 balls. Hit 3 fours and 4 sixes. Rinku Singh also contributed 23 runs in 16 balls.

DC vs KKR: Umesh sent Prithvi Shaw to the pavilion on the first ball, dived himself and caught a surprising catch

DC vs KKR: All-rounder failed to compete with Hardik Pandya, strike rate not even 100 in IPL

Apart from Kuldeep Yadav, left-arm fast bowler Mustafizur Rahman also bowled brilliantly for Delhi. He took 3 wickets for 18 runs in 4 overs. Chetan Sakaria and Axar Patel also got a wicket each.

Tags: David warner, Delhi Capitals, IPL, IPL 2022, Kolkata Knight Riders, Kuldeep Yadav

Leave a Comment