New Delhi. Second Test match of the series against New Zealand (IND vs NZ 2nd Test) captain of India in the first innings of Virat Kohli The dismissal of (Virat Kohli) became a topic of discussion. Kohli was declared out lbw by the on-field umpire. The Indian captain resorted to DRS but third umpire Virender Sharma upheld the on-field umpire’s decision. Replays showed that the ball hit the bat as well as the pad simultaneously.
Third umpire Virender Sharma Virat Kohli was considered out because he could not find conclusive evidence to overturn the on-field umpire’s decision. With this Kohli returned to the pavilion without opening the account. now wicket keeper batsman Dinesh Karthik (Dinesh Karthik) has also given his opinion on this matter. Karthik said that when he first saw it live, it seemed that the ball hit the pad first but later it was found that it was a close matter.
Karthik told Cricbuzz, ‘I saw it live. When I saw it for the first time, it was probably pad-bat-pad but when they kept showing replays, it was a very close case. As per the rules, there must be conclusive evidence to overturn the on-field umpire’s decision. I think umpire Virender Sharma did not find conclusive evidence, even though the Twitter world and the rest of the social media world are convinced that the ball hit the bat first.
Dinesh Karthik, 36, also said that a zoomer is needed to find out where the ball has hit first. Karthik too feels that there was so much confusion and Virender Sharma went by the rule book even though it became a matter of debate.
He said, ‘To be honest, it is really difficult. You need a zoomer and really need to know where the ball hit first. When the ball hits the bat, you can see the back side hitting the pad as well. So, when there is so much confusion, you go with the decision that the on-field umpire has given.