First win for West Indies in T20I against New Zealand after 8 long years

The West Indies team has won a T20 International match against a team after a long gap of not one or two years, but 8 years. Yes, the Caribbean team has won a T20I match against New Zealand after 8 years. This victory may have given the West Indies team some courage, but the host West Indies team has lost the three-match T20 series against New Zealand.

The last time the West Indies team tasted victory in a T20 International match against New Zealand was in 2014. After this there were many occasions where the Caribbean team was on the verge of winning, but the Kiwi team overturned. After 2014, only three series have been played between these two countries so far. All three of these series have been won by the New Zealand team, but West Indies won in a draw series 8 years ago.

For your information, let us tell you that a total of 19 matches have been played between the two countries, out of which 11 matches have been won by the New Zealand team, while the West Indies team has won only 6 times. The two matches have been fruitless between the two countries. At the same time, talking about this match, in the last match of the three-match T20 series played in Jamaica, the West Indies team defeated the Kiwi team by 8 wickets.

In this match, New Zealand captain Kane Williamson won the toss and elected to bat and scored 145 runs in 20 overs for the loss of 7 wickets. For the Kiwis, Glenn Phillips scored 41 runs, captain Williamson 24 runs and Devon Conway scored 21 runs. From the Caribbean team, Odeon Smith got 3 wickets and Akil Hussain got 2 wickets. West Indies achieved this target on the basis of 56 runs from Shamarh Brooks and 53 from Brandon King for the loss of 2 wickets in 19 overs.

Leave a Comment