History created in IPL, for the first time 5 scores of 200+ were chased in a season

New Delhi. A new record has been made in the Indian Premier League (IPL). For the first time in a season of IPL, five scores of 200 runs or more have been chased and IPL 2023 (IPL 23023) has become its witness. In the current season, 47 matches have been played so far (till May 4) and four teams have chased scores of 200+. Rohit Sharma’s Mumbai Indians have done this feat twice this season. MI successfully chased down a score of 214 against Punjab Kings on Wednesday, before the same team chased down a score of 212 against Rajasthan Royals on 30 April.

Apart from MI, Lucknow Supergiants, Kolkata Knight Riders and Punjab Kings have also chased 200+ scores once each in this season. Let’s look at those five matches of IPL 2023, in which a team won by chasing a score of 200 or more.

1. Gujarat Titans vs Kolkata Knight Riders (9 April)

In this match played at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, KKR successfully chased Gujarat Titans’ score of 204 with the help of five sixes by Rinku Singh in the last five balls of the last over bowled by Yash Dayal. did. Apart from Rinku Singh’s innings, this match was also in discussion for GT’s Rashid Khan’s hat-trick. Batting first in the match, Gujarat Titans scored 204 for 4 with the help of Sai Sudarshan’s 53 (three fours and two sixes in 38 balls) and Vijay Shankar’s 63 (four fours and five sixes in 24 balls). In response, KKR scored Venkatesh Iyer’s 83 (40 balls, eight fours and five sixes), Nitish Rana’s 45 (29 balls, four fours and three sixes) and Rinku Singh’s unbeaten 48 (43 balls, one four and six sixes). With the help, the target was achieved by losing seven wickets on the last ball of the innings.

2. Lucknow Supergiants vs Royal Challengers Bangalore (April 10)
In this match at the Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore, RCB scored 212 runs by losing two wickets with the help of Virat Kohli’s 61, Faf du Plessis’s 79 and Glenn Maxwell’s 59 runs. Batting in reply, at one time the Lucknow team had lost five wickets for 105 runs, but Nicholas Pooran’s 62 (four fours and seven sixes) and Marcus Stoinis’s 65 runs (six fours, five sixes) helped the team to victory. Had brought it. One run was needed on the last ball of the match and only one wicket was remaining. This run came through the bye and LSG won the match by one wicket.

3. Chennai Super Kings vs Punjab Kings (April 30)
In this match at Chepauk, Chennai Super Kings scored 200 runs in 20 overs losing four wickets in 20 overs thanks to Devon Conway’s 92 runs (52 balls, 16 fours and a six). In reply, with the help of Prabhsimran Singh’s 42, Shikhar Dhawan’s 28, Liam Livingstone’s 40, Sam Karen’s 29 and Jitesh Sharma’s 21 runs, Punjab Kings achieved the target by losing 6 wickets in the last ball. The winning run came on the last ball of the match off the bat of Sikandar Raza (13 not out off 7 balls).

4. Rajasthan Royals vs Mumbai Indians (April 30)
On April 30 itself, in another match, a score chase of more than 200 took place. In this match at Wankhede Stadium, with the help of Yashasvi Jaiswal’s century (124 runs, 62 balls, 16 fours and eight sixes), Rajasthan Royals scored 212 runs for 7 wickets in 20 overs. In response, Ishaan Kishan scored 28, Cameron Green scored 44 and Suryakumar Yadav scored 55 to lead MI to victory. Tilak Verma scored 29 (21 balls, three fours and one six) and Tim David remained unbeaten on 45 runs (14 balls, two fours and five sixes) to take the team to victory in 19.3 overs. The target was achieved by Mumbai Indians by losing four wickets.
5. Punjab Kings vs Mumbai Indians (May 3)
In this match at Mohali’s IS Bindra Stadium, Punjab Kings scored 82 (42 balls, seven fours and four sixes) by Liam Livingstone and Jitesh Sharma’s unbeaten 49 (27 balls, five fours and two sixes) in 20 overs. Scored 214 runs losing three wickets. In reply, Ishaan Kishan scored 75 (41 balls, seven fours and four sixes) and Suryakumar Yadav scored 66 (31 balls, eight fours and two sixes) for the third wicket by sharing a 116-run partnership for the MI camp. Was woken up After the dismissal of these two, Tim David scored 19 and Tilak Verma scored 26 runs (15 balls, one four and three sixes) to reach the target by losing four wickets.

Tags: indian premier league, IPL 2023, mumbai indians

Leave a Comment