New Delhi, Fans like to see fours and sixes being hit on the cricket field. Whether someone creates terror with the bat or wreaks havoc with the ball, the fans are treated to full-on entertainment. When it comes to the rules of cricket, even big fans seem somewhat weak in terms of their knowledge. One such question was asked in the written test related to the selection of umpires. Perhaps some fans can answer this question, but it is not so easy for a cricket lover to give the correct answer. Today we are bringing one such question before you. After hearing this question, cricket fans immediately answer it, but the answer of 90 percent people is found to be wrong in this regard. Let us ask you the answer to this question asked in the umpires test.
Question: If during the game of cricket a bowler bowls a no ball and the batsman is caught out on this ball. If the batsman runs away and completes one run before the catch is taken, then how many runs will be considered in total? On the same lines which batter will face the next ball after this?
wrong answer: On hearing the question, an immediate thought comes to mind that the answer will be two runs. One run will be given for no ball while the run scored by the player by running away before the catch will also be considered. The player at the non-striker end will face the next ball but this answer is wrong.
right answer: The answer to the question asked in the umpires’ test has been explained as follows – the player of the non-striker’s end will face the next ball for free-hit but only one run will be counted, not two. This run will be of no ball only. Runs taken away will not count in this.
Sunil Gavaskar’s opening partner admitted in hospital, fighting for life, hit first four in ODI for India
Will Chris Gayle’s record ever be broken? Century was hit in 30 balls, only 1 player came close in 10 years
What are ICC rules?
There is a lot of lack of clarity regarding this in the ICC rules. Penalty on no ball has been explained under Rule 21.15. In which it has been told that one run of penalty will be given as soon as no ball is called. This penalty can be waived only if the call of the noball is cancelled. Even if the batter gets out, the penalty of one run will remain intact. This run will be considered in addition to the run coming from the boundary or by running away. It was told in Rule 21.18 that if no ball is signaled, then ‘run out’, ‘obstructing the field’ and ‘playing the ball twice with the bat’ can be called out only.
First read breaking news in Hindi News18 Hindi| Read today’s latest news, live news updates, most reliable Hindi news website News18 Hindi.
Tags: BCCI, cricket news, ICC, team india
FIRST PUBLISHED : March 29, 2023, 15:00 IST