Monday, December 6, 2021

IND vs NZ 1st Test former Indian cricketer Wasim Jaffer drops Ishant Sharma in huge playing XI change – Latest Cricket News

Team India will play the first match of the two-match Test series against New Zealand at Greenpark, Kanpur from today. In the absence of regular skipper Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane will lead the side under the guidance of new head coach Rahul Dravid. Many players have been rested from this series and apart from them opener KL Rahul has been ruled out of the series due to a muscle injury. Meanwhile, former Indian cricketer Wasim Jaffer has selected India’s own playing XI for the first Test, in which he has made a major change in the bowling.

On the eve of the first Test, Rahane confirmed that Shreyas Iyer would be the debut player for the team in the Kanpur Test. After Team India’s batting order is correct, one may have to think about the bowling line-up. Jaffer told ESPNcricinfo, ‘I will go with Mayank and Shubman Gill as KL Rahul is now injured. Pujara will bat at number 3 and Rahane at 4. I will send Shreyas Iyer to number 5. Number 6 will be Wriddhiman Saha and Ravindra Jadeja will be at number 7 without any doubt. For No.8 I will go with Ravichandran Ashwin and No.9 with Axar Patel because he had a good recent performance against England. All three of our spinners can bat, which is a big deal.

Jaffer, however, has placed pacer Mohammad Siraj at number 10, who will play or not, it is not yet decided as Siraj suffered a hand injury during the T20I series. The BCCI has not yet confirmed anything about Siraj. The former Indian batsman has not included fast bowler Ishant Sharma, who has played more than 100 Tests, in the last spot of his playing XI. Jaffer has given Umesh Yadav a chance in place of Ishant. He said that Umesh Yadav has been included in the playing XI because he has a good record in India.

Wasim Jaffer’s Indian Playing XI for the 1st Test against New Zealand: Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (Captain), Shreyas Iyer, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Mohammad Siraj and Umesh Yadav.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles