IND vs NZ: India beat No.1 New Zealand by 8 wickets, also won the 7th consecutive ODI series at home

New Delhi. On the basis of excellent bowling under the leadership of Mohammed Shami, India first bundled out New Zealand for 108 runs. Then Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill gave the team a big win by 8 wickets by batting brilliantly. With this, Team India has also won the third consecutive series of the year 2023. By winning the second ODI, the Indian team has taken an unassailable 2-0 lead in the series. Earlier, India has also won T20 and ODI series against Sri Lanka in 2023. India’s impressive performance at home against New Zealand continues. He won the 7th consecutive bilateral ODI series. This is also the 7th series between the two teams in India. That is, Team India has not lost any series. The third and final ODI of the series is to be played in Indore on 24 January. New Zealand is the number-1 ODI team, but its performance in the current series has not been good.

Rohit Sharma got out after scoring 51 runs off 50 balls. Hit 7 fours and 2 sixes. He added 72 runs in 14.2 overs for the first wicket with Gill. Virat Kohli could not do anything amazing in the second consecutive match. Stumped on Santner’s ball after scoring 11 runs off 9 balls. Shubman Gill was not dismissed after scoring 40 runs off 53 balls. Hit 6 fours. Ishaan Kishan also remained unbeaten after scoring 8 runs off 9 balls. India achieved the target of 109 runs for 2 wickets in 20.1 overs. In the first match, Gill played an important role in winning the double century consecutively.

5 wickets fell for 15 runs
Earlier, the fast bowling attack led by Mohammed Shami bowled out New Zealand for 108 runs on a difficult pitch. New Zealand had lost 5 wickets for 15 runs in the 11th over, due to which the passionate spectators of the cricket present at the Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh Stadium were afraid of ending the match early. Shami (3/18) and Mohammad Siraj (1/10) made it difficult for the batsmen to score runs with their excellent seam bowling on a bowler-friendly pitch. The ball was stopping, due to which it was difficult for the batsmen to add one run each.

ellen returns to zero
Opener Phil Allen could not even open the account and missed Shami’s full length ball, which uprooted his stumps. Then Siraj’s ball reached the hands of Shubman Gill by taking the edge of the bat of number three batsman Henry Nicholls. Brilliant return catches by Shami and Hardik Pandya (2 wickets for 16 runs) again put New Zealand in more trouble. Shami dismissed Daryl Mitchell on his own ball, who was trying to flick his ball.

Conway also failed
On the other hand, in the 10th over, Hardik’s catch of Devon Conway with one hand on his own ball was excellent. Shardul Thakur (one wicket for 26 runs) was also successful in taking a wicket when his ball took the edge of Tom Latham’s bat and went into the hands of Shubman Gill. The New Zealand captain played a loose shot and Gill also took a simple catch in the slip.

Bracewell could not play big innings
New Zealand were in trouble, but with Michael Bracewell (22 runs), the centurion of the previous match, at the crease, there was hope. Along with him, the equally dangerous Glenn Phillips (36 runs) was also at the crease. Bracewell expressed his intentions by hitting a four on the cover on Shami. After hitting consecutive fours in the 19th over, Shami bowled a sharp bouncer and Bracewell tried to pull it and caught wicketkeeper Ishan Kishan by touching the bat.

IND vs NZ: New Zealand limited to third lowest score, record made in Raipur’s first ODI

Mitchell Santner (27 runs), who scored a half-century in the first ODI in Hyderabad, was again at the crease with Phillips. Both of them made the team cross 100 runs by sharing a 47-run partnership for the 7th wicket. Although both of them were dismissed within 6 balls, due to which New Zealand’s hope of making a comeback also ended. Santner was bowled by Hardik while Phillips caught Suryakumar Yadav on the ball of Washington Sundar (2 wickets for seven runs). Kuldeep Yadav (1/29) dismissed Blair Tickner at number 11 to wrap up New Zealand’s innings in 34.3 overs. There was still 93 balls left to play.

Tags: india vs new zealand, Mohammed Shami, New Zealand, Rohit sharma, Shubman Gill, team india

Leave a Comment