Saturday, December 4, 2021

IND vs NZ Kane Williamson to miss T20 Series Against to focus on Tests Tim Southee will captain

New Delhi. New Zealand has announced its team for the 3 T20 series against India starting on Wednesday. The big news is that captain Kane Williamson will not play the series. In his place, Tim Southee has been given the command of the team. Williamson has distanced himself from the T20 series in terms of Test preparation. After the 3 T20 series between India and New Zealand, 2 Tests are also to be played. The first match of the series will be held in Kanpur from November 25. While the second will be played in Mumbai from December 3. This series will be part of the World Test Championship. That’s why Williamson decided not to play the T20 series with the intention of focusing on it.

New Zealand has announced a 14-man squad for the T20 series against India. In this team, the responsibility of batting will be on the shoulders of Daryl Mitchell, Martin Guptill, Glenn Phillips. While Tim Southee, Trent Boult will lead the fast bowling attack. Ish Sodhi and Mitchell Santner will strengthen the team as spin bowlers.

Williamson reached Jaipur on Monday evening with the 15-member New Zealand team, 24 hours after losing the final of the T20 World Cup. The first T20 match will be played here on Wednesday. The second T20 will be held on Friday and the last match will be on Sunday. New Zealand Cricket issued a statement saying, “The specialist players of the Test team are already training in Jaipur. Williamson will now join this group. Because he wants to concentrate on the Test series.

NZC also confirmed that fast bowler Lockie Ferguson, who had to miss the T20 World Cup due to a right calf strain. He is recovering fast and is expected to be fit for the T20I series. New Zealand squad for 3rd T20I series: Martin Guptill, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Tim Seifert, Mark Chapman, Jimmy Neesham, Kyle Jameson, Ish Sodhi, Mitchell Santner, Todd Ashtel, Adam Milne, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult, Tim Saudi (captain).

Tags: Cricket news, IND vs NZ, IND vs NZ T20I, Kane Williamson, Tim Southee

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles