IND vs SA: India-Africa first match in Delhi today, Pant will set the sail for Team India

New Delhi. The first match of the five-match T20 series between India and South Africa will be played at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi today. Rishabh Pant will lead the Indian team. The Indian camp will try to test the young players ahead of the T20 World Cup to be held in Australia later this year. Lokesh Rahul was supposed to lead the Indian team in Rohit Sharma’s absence but he was ruled out due to a groin injury, which will make him unable to play the entire series.

India eyes 13th consecutive win
If Pant manages to win the opening match of the series while captaining the national team for the first time at the international level, then India will also create a new record by winning the 13th T20 in a row. Now the Indian top order with the new ‘look’ would like to show their better performance. With Rahul’s sudden exit, Ruturaj Gaikwad can be given a chance. But most importantly, the top three-ranked Indian batting line-up with Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan and Shreyas Iyer will see a new ‘look’, prompting head coach Rahul Dravid to try out some combinations to prepare the team for the World Cup in October. will get a chance. There cannot be a better opponent for this than South Africa which has done well in the recent past.

Pant will play an international series for the first time as a captain.
Pant is being considered as one of the potential Indian captain’s contenders for the future and there could not be a better chance than this to prove his mettle while leading the side in the shorter formats. Pant said before his first international series as captain, “It will help me a lot as captain. When you do the same thing for a while, you improvise and keep learning from it and I think it will help me.”

Big opportunity for Ishan Kishan, Iyer will play at number three
However, head coach Dravid’s target in the next 10 days will be to find some players from the core group for special places. Rahul’s absence will give Ishan Kishan a chance to show his consistency at the top of the order, which was not visible for Mumbai Indians in the recent Indian Premier League (IPL). Shreyas Iyer could be dropped at number three in the absence of Suryakumar Yadav but in-form Deepak Hooda also cannot be ignored as he had an impressive performance at number three for Lucknow Super Giants.

Hardik Pandya will play the role of finisher
Pant is expected to move to the fourth position and the new vice-captain Hardik Pandya at the fifth position. However, Hooda in sixth place and Dinesh Karthik, who returned to the team, can be fielded. Pant will try to regain his momentum while it will be interesting to see if Karthik can maintain his IPL form. Pandya had batted at number three and four in the IPL but would be ready to return to the role of ‘finisher’ here.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar will lead the fast bowling department
Dravid said, “Sometimes you play the same role in the national team that you play for your franchise team but sometimes the roles change.” Bhuvneshwar Kumar will lead the fast bowling department in which he will be accompanied by ‘death overs’. Expert Harshal Patel. Both of them will try to prove their mettle as only Jasprit Bumrah is sure to be selected among the fast bowlers for the World Cup.

Axar Patel will be the spin bowling all-rounder
Avesh Khan will play the role of the third fast bowler but if he does not work then Arshdeep Singh and Umran Malik can be given a chance to make their debut. Left-arm wrist spinner Kuldeep Yadav has also been ruled out of the series due to a hand injury. He got this injury during training on Tuesday. Kuldeep’s injury means India will have to wait to see the spin duo of him and Yuzvendra Chahal bowl together. Axar Patel will be the spin bowling all-rounder.

It will not be easy to face South Africa’s strong team
With the injured Ravindra Jadeja being considered for the World Cup selection and Chahal cannot be dropped, Ravi Bishnoi will have to strengthen his claim with a strong performance. South Africa have not lost a limited overs series in India since 2010 and have fielded their best team this time as well. For South Africa, the role of David Miller, Quinton de Kock and Aiden Markram, who are in excellent form, will be important. In the bowling department, he will be heavily focused on the spin duo of Tabrez Shamsi and Keshav Maharaj and the pace duo of Kagiso Rabada and Anrich Norkia.

The teams are as follows:

India : Rishabh Pant (capt and wicketkeeper), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya (vice captain), Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan , Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik.

South Africa: Temba Bavuma (c), Quinton de Kock (wk), Reeza Hendrix, Henrik Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Norkia, Wayne Parnell, Dwayne Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabrez Shamsi, Tristan Van Stubbs, Rasi Der Dussen, Marco Yansen.

Tags: Ind vs sa, India vs South Africa, Rishabh Pant, South africa, Team India

Leave a Comment