IND vs SL: Hardik Pandya & Co. will set out to lay the foundation of ‘Mission 2024’, Asia Cup champions are the challenge


Hardik Pandya is captaining in the T20 series against Sri Lanka.
A 3-match T20 series will be played between India and Sri Lanka.

Mumbai. Without Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul, the Indian T20 cricket team will embark on a new path without Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul in the three-match series against Sri Lanka, with Hardik Pandya making a strong start to his innings as the full-time captain of the T20 team. Will try to lay a strong foundation for ‘2024’. Indian cricket lovers have already seen glimpses of Hardik’s captaincy when the team under his leadership won the rain-affected T20 series in New Zealand.

ODI World Cup is to be played this year and in such a situation, the shortest format of the game is not a priority for the Indian team but this will help Hardik to prepare his strategy for the future, especially for the T20 World Cup to be held in 2024. India’s top three batsmen Rohit, Kohli and Rahul are not a part of the team and irrespective of their future in T20, the team should be prepared to move ahead without them.

IND vs SL, 1st T20I: 4 opening contenders, know how India’s playing XI can be against Sri Lanka

Rituraj Gaikwad can start the innings with Ishaan Kishan
The biggest problem of the Indian team recently has been that it could not play carefree cricket. India’s top-order batsmen failed to play openly, which cost the team in the T20 World Cup. Talking about the team combination, Rishabh Pant, who was injured in a car accident last week, opened the innings in New Zealand with Ishan Kishan. Pant, however, was not selected in the team for the series against Sri Lanka, due to which there is every possibility that Rituraj Gaikwad will open the innings with Ishan Kishan in the first Test match to be held at Wankhede Stadium.

Next T20 World Cup to be played after 18 months
Ishan Kishan and Gaikwad have been doing well in the IPL for the past few years and this is a real opportunity for them to showcase their skills without worrying about their place in the team. The next T20 World Cup is to be played after 18 months and in such a situation both of them are likely to get ample opportunities, although less than 15 T20 Internationals will be played this year, as the team management will give more priority to ODIs. Hardik has another option in the form of Shubman Gill opener, who has not yet made his debut in T20 International.

IND vs SL Live Streaming: How to watch India-Sri Lanka first T20 match sitting at home absolutely free? learn here

Hardik Pandya in favor of keeping 6 bowlers in playing XI
At number three, the captain can trust world’s number one batsman Suryakumar Yadav. Hardik is in favor of keeping six bowlers in the playing XI and in such a situation, Deepak Hooda may get a chance in the first match. The team management will have to choose between Sanju Samson in the middle order and Rahul Tripathi, who is yet to play international matches. Tripathi has not been able to make a place in the playing XI for some time and may have to stay out against Sri Lanka as Samson may get priority based on his experience.

It is difficult for Shivam Mavi and Mukesh Kumar to get a chance
Even though Shivam Mavi and Mukesh Kumar have been included in the team, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel and Umran Malik are likely to be selected in the fast bowling attack. India has all-rounder options in the form of Washington Sundar and Akshar Patel. Specialist spinner Yajuvendra Chahal is likely to get a chance in the first match of the series.

Challenge of Asia Cup champion Sri Lanka in front of India
The current Asia Cup champion Sri Lanka will try to give a tough challenge to India on its soil. Sri Lanka have retained Avishka Fernando, Chamika Karunaratne and Sadeera Samarawickrama, who performed well in the Lanka Premier League.
Fernando and Karunaratne have returned to the team and will be eager to make an impact. Sri Lanka will expect good performance from Bhanuka Rajapaksa in the middle order.” isDesktop=”true” id=”5150943″ >

Teams are as follows:

India: Hardik Pandya (captain), Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Rituraj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav (vice-captain), Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Akshar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Umran Malik, Shivam Mavi, Mukesh Kumar.

Sri Lanka: Dasun Shanaka (Captain), Pathum Nissanka, Avishka Fernando, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Kusal Mendis, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Charith Aslanka, Dhananjay de Silva, Wanindu Hasaranga, Ashen Bandara, Mahesh Tikshna, Chamika Karunaratne, Dilshan Madushanka, Kasun Rajitha, Dunith Velalej, Pramod Madushan, Lahiru Kumara, Nuwan Thushara.

Tags: Hardik Pandya, india vs sri lanka, Ishan Kishan, Rohit sharma, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav

Leave a Comment