IND vs WI: Arshdeep Singh ready to make ODI debut! India hasn’t lost in Port of Spain for 11 years


Arshdeep did well in IPL
He could not play against England due to injury.
India has won the last 6 matches played on the field

port of Spain. India’s young cricketers will be tested in the 5-match ODI series against the West Indies, led by Shikhar Dhawan, starting on Friday. This series (IND vs WI) is taking place at a time when the discussion about organizing bilateral ODI matches is in full swing. Due to the sudden retirement of Ben Stokes, the discussion about the busy schedule of international cricket, especially the bilateral series, has gained momentum. The England all-rounder has made it clear that it is impossible to play regularly in all three formats. In such a situation, it is becoming difficult to make a place for ODI cricket stuck between Test and T20. Arshdeep Singh can get a chance in the first match. Team India has not lost 11 years since 2011 on this ground and has won the last 6 ODIs.

West Indies came to India in February to play 5 ODIs and as many T20 matches and the limited overs series is happening again between these two teams. The T20 World Cup is to be played this year and in such a situation the importance of ODIs has reduced a bit, but in the absence of top players, new players will get a chance. He would like to leave his mark in this series. Dhawan, playing only in the ODI format, will lead India for the second time in his career as regular skipper Rohit Sharma has been rested for the series.

Rest for many senior players
Apart from Rohit, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya and Virat Kohli have also been rested. It was found in the England series that if a player does not play regularly at the top level, then the task is not easy for him. Dhawan, who has been consistent in his performance, fell far behind from delivering his best. It will be interesting to see who opens the innings with Dhawan in the first match of the series. Shubman Gill is back in the team. He will form a right and left-handed combination with Dhawan, but other players in the team can also get a chance to open the innings, including Ishan Kishan and Rituraj Gaikwad.

HUDA at No.3
The team management will have to make some effort to select the players in the middle order. Deepak Hooda, who is in excellent form, can come out to bat at number-3 and Suryakumar Yadav is also selected in the playing XI. In such a situation, only one will be able to play between Shreyas Iyer and Sanju Samson. There will be pressure on Iyer, as his weakness in front of short pitch deliveries came to the fore during the tour of England. In the absence of Hardik Pandya, Shardul Thakur will be a substitute for the fast bowling all-rounder for India. The pitch is expected to help the spinners and in such a situation, Yuzvendra Chahal and Rindra Jadeja can play in all three matches. Axar Patel is the option as the third spinner.

Siraj decided to play
Arshdeep Singh, who missed the ODIs in England due to a hamstring strain, may get a chance to make his ODI debut on Friday as he was seen bowling a lot in the nets on Thursday. Famous Krishna and Mohammad Siraj will be in the playing XI as the main bowlers. The recent performance of West Indies has not been good. He had to face defeat 0-3 in the ODI series against Bangladesh. All-rounder Jason Holder has made a comeback and this has given balance to the Nicholas Pooran-led side.

India has won 8 ODIs
The Caribbean team will try to improve in some areas, including the batting. In the recent matches, his team had failed to play all their 50 overs. After the World Cup 2019, his team was able to play all 50 overs in only 6 out of 39 innings and this is a matter of concern for the team. 16 matches have been played between the two teams on this ground. India has won in 8 ODIs while West Indies have won in 7. The result of one match did not come.

IND vs WI: Shikhar Dhawan or Nicholas Pooran, who has better record as captain? Here are the details

The two teams are as follows:
Shikhar Dhawan (capt), Rituraj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (vc), Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Famous Krishna, Mohammad Siraj and Arshdeep Singh.
West Indies: Nicholas Pooran (Captain), Shai Hope (Vice-Captain), Shemrah Brooks, Keesey Carty, Jason Holder, Akil Hossain, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Meyers, Gudkesh Moti, Keemo Paul, Rovman Powell, Jaden Seals.

Tags: Arshdeep Singh, India vs west indies, Nicholas Pooran, shikhar dhawan, Team India, West indies

Leave a Comment