New Delhi: In the world of cricket, such an example is rarely seen when a batsman leaves the pitch despite being declared not out. Poonam Raut, the player of the Indian women’s cricket team, presented an expression of sportsmanship with her decision.
This is how Poonam Raut got out
In the 81st over of India’s innings on the second day of the Day-Night Test against Australia, left-arm spinner Sophie Molineux bowled Poonam Raut off the fourth ball. Touching the edge of the bat, the ball reached the gloves of wicketkeeper Alyssa Healy.
Left the field despite being given not out
On Australia’s appeal, the field umpire, shaking his head in ‘No’, declared Poonam Raut not out. But everyone including Kangaroo fielders were surprised to see that Poonam returned to the pavilion. This Indian women’s batter scored 36 runs in 165 balls and together with Smriti Mandhana made an important partnership of 102 runs for the second wicket.
— cricket.com.au (@cricketcomau) October 1, 2021
Poonam Raut showed honesty
It is worth noting that DRS is not being used in this match, so Poonam Raut could have been saved clearly, but she realized that the ball had hit the bat. Australian fielder Beth Mooney spoke to the commentators through a microphone at that time. Mooney said that he did not know whether Raut had a bat or not.
India lose their third wicket as Punam Raut’s patient innings of 36 comes to an end.
— ICC (@ICC) October 1, 2021
Saba Karim was also shocked
Former India wicketkeeper Saba Karim said that it was incomprehensible. He said on Sony Sports Network, ‘Honestly it was a very strange decision. There is no DRS there either. Former India cricketer Nushin Al Khadir said, ‘Hope Raut will not regret his decision now.
Click here for the latest and interesting sports news Zee News’s Sports Facebook Page like to