India will become the second team in world cricket to use 7 captains in a calendar year Sri Lanka did in 2017

The three-match ODI series between India and West Indies is to start from 22nd July. Shikhar Dhawan will be seen leading the Indian team in a blue jersey in the absence of senior players. As soon as Dhawan takes the field tomorrow, it will be the first time in the history of Indian cricket that the 7th player will lead the team in a year, while India will become the second team in world cricket to have appointed 7 captains in a year. Yes, before this neighboring country Sri Lanka has used 7 captains in 2017.

Shubman Gill, Rituraj Gaikwad or Ishaan Kishan, who will open the innings with Shikhar Dhawan? Wasim Jaffer gave his opinion

This year these captains led India

KL Rahul took charge of the team when Virat Kohli got injured during the Test series against South Africa at the beginning of the year. At the same time, after losing the Test series 1-2, Kohli had announced to step down as captain. On this tour, in the absence of Rohit, Rahul led the ODI team.

After this Rohit Sharma returned to the team after getting fit and he took over the captaincy of the team against Sri Lanka and West Indies at home before IPL and won all 11 matches. After this the IPL happened and soon after this colorful league, India played a 5-match T20 series against South Africa. Although captain KL Rahul was made for this series, but a day before the match this opener got injured. In place of Rahul, the responsibility of captaincy was handed over to Rishabh Pant. The series ended in a 2-2 draw.

IND vs WI: Indian players arrived in West Indies on a chartered flight of 3.5 crores, this was not the reason for Kovid

India got its fifth captain on the tour of Ireland when the BCCI handed over the responsibility to Hardik Pandya in the absence of Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul and Rishabh Pant. India cleaned up the hosts in the two-match T20 series.

After this, before the Edgbaston Test against England, Rohit Sharma came under the grip of Corona. Jasprit Bumrah was appointed the captain of the Test team in Rohit’s absence. India lost this test by 7 wickets.

Now on July 22, India will get the 7th captain of this year in the form of Shikhar Dhawan. Dhawan is an experienced captain, having captained the IPL, he has led Team India on the last tour of Sri Lanka. There are still 5 more months left, if BCCI entrusts the responsibility of captaincy to another new player, then it will become a world record.

Most captain changing teams in a year-

2017 Sri Lanka – 7
2022 India – 7*
2001 Zimbabwe – 6
2011 England – 6
2021 Australia – 6

Leave a Comment