Thursday, December 2, 2021

Indian cricketer Shikhar Dhawan honored with Arjuna Award by President Ram Nath Kovind at Rashtrapati Bhavan – Latest Cricket News

The National Khel Ratna Awards were given at Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi on Saturday. Indian team batsman Shikhar Dhawan was honored with the Arjuna Award. President Ram Nath Kovind presented this award to Dhawan at a program organized at Rashtrapati Bhavan. Apart from Dhawan, several Indian athletes were honored with the Arjuna Award. This time 35 players were awarded the Arjuna Award. Most of these athletes were medal winners at the Tokyo Olympics and Paralympics.

The players who were given the Arjuna Award are hockey women player Vandana Kataria, Monika, kabaddi player Sandi Narwal, shooter Abhishek Verma and para badminton player Suhas Yathiraj. Suhas Yathiraj is the DM of Gautam Buddha Nagar in UP. Suhas Yathiraj created history by winning the silver medal in the men’s singles badminton event SL-4 at the Tokyo Paralympics. Apart from this, President Ram Nath Kovind presented Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award to 12 players, javelin thrower Neeraj Chopra, who made history by winning gold medal in Tokyo Olympics.

Sports Awards 2021: Neeraj Chopra, Mithali Raj and PR Sreejesh, who won gold in Tokyo Olympics, received Khel Ratna Award, President Ramnath Kovind honored

The National Sports Awards are given every year on the occasion of National Sports Day on 29 August, the birth anniversary of hockey wizard Major Dhyan Chand, but this time around 29 August, due to the Olympics and Paralympics, there was a delay in giving away the awards. The Khel Ratna award carries a cash prize of Rs 25 lakh and a medal of honour. The Arjuna Award carries a prize money of Rs 15 lakh, a bronze statuette and a certificate of honour. Several dignitaries including Sports Minister Anurag Thakur were present in the function.

Related news

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles