INDW vs SLW: Smriti Mandhana and Harmanpreet close to creating history in T20, India-Sri Lanka clash from tomorrow

Dambulla. The Indian women’s cricket team will look to make a fresh start under the leadership of new captain Harmanpreet Kaur of all formats in the first T20 International of the 3-match series against Sri Lanka starting here on Thursday. The T20 format of cricket has been included in the upcoming Commonwealth Games in Birmingham, while the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup is also 8 months away. In such a situation, the Indian team would like to make a solid start to their campaign. This is the first international tournament of the Indian women’s team after a disappointing performance in the Women’s World Cup 2022. Smriti Mandhana can also make a special record in the first T20.

This is the first series of the Indian team after the retirement of veteran player Mithali Raj. Mithali said goodbye to cricket after an illustrious international career of 23 years. Harmanpreet’s eyes will be set on leaving Mithali behind. The 33-year-old Harmanpreet has scored 2319 runs in 121 matches and needs 46 runs to overtake Mithali in the shortest format of the game. At the same time, Mandhana is just 29 runs away from 2 thousand runs. She can become the third Indian to do so. Hosts Sri Lanka, however, will start the series on the back foot as the team recently suffered a 0-3 defeat in the T20I series against Pakistan.

Team will play any match after February

However, India will have to be wary of experienced Sri Lankan players like Oshadi Ranasinghe and Chamari Atapattu. India played the last T20 match against New Zealand in February this year, in which the team lost by 18 runs. Looking at the current form, India will have high hopes from Mandhana, Shefali Verma, Deepti Sharma and fast bowler Pooja Vastrakar. Considering the current form and world rankings, India will definitely start the series as strong contenders and Sri Lanka will have to improve their game a lot to beat the visiting team. The 3-match T20I series will be followed by an ODI series of the same number of matches, which will be held at Pallekal on July 1, 4 and 7. The match will start at 2 pm Indian time.

Both teams are as follows

India: Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana, Simran Bahadur, Yastika Bhatia, Rajeshwari Gaikwad, Richa Ghosh, Sabhinene Meghna, Meghna Singh, Poonam Yadav, Renuka Singh, Jemima Rodrigues, Shefali Verma, Deepti Sharma, Pooja Vastrakar and Radha Yadav.

Ranji Trophy: Yashasvi got a chance after 3 years, scored 3 centuries in 4 innings, scored more than 450 runs

Ranji Trophy: Sarfaraz scored runs at an average of 82, Dravid-Lakshman left behind, the team’s responsibility is on him

Sri Lanka: Chamari Atapattu (Captain), Nilakshi D’Silva, Kavisha Dilhari, Vishmi Gunaratne, Ama Kanchana, Hansima Karunaratne, Achini Kulsuriya, Sugandhika Kumari, Harshita Madvi, Hasini Perera, Udeshika Prabodhani, Oshadi Ranasinghe, Satya Sandipani, Anoushka Sanjeevani, Thashaarikashe .

Tags: BCCI, Harmanpreet Kaur, India Vs Sri lanka, Indian women cricketer, Smriti Mandhana

Leave a Comment