Sunday, October 24, 2021

IPL 2021 Chennai super kings qualified for play offs after beating Sunrisers Hyderabad at sharjah

New Delhi. Chennai Super Kings, captained by the legendary Mahendra Singh Dhoni, defeated Sunrisers Hyderabad by 6 wickets in the IPL (IPL-2021) match on Thursday. With the victory in this match played in Sharjah, Chennai secured a place in the playoffs. On the strength of their bowlers, Chennai restricted Hyderabad to 134 runs for 7 wickets. After this, the target was achieved by losing 6 wickets with 2 balls remaining. Dhoni hit the winning six off the ball of Siddharth Kaul. Chennai team has become the first team to reach the playoffs this season.

Three-time champion team Chennai registered their 9th win in 11 matches and now have 18 points. Delhi Capitals at number two have 16 points from 11 matches. At the same time, Hyderabad, captained by Kane Williamson, suffered 9th defeat in 11 matches and is at the bottom of the 8 teams table.

Click here to see the full scorecard of this match

Chasing the target of 135 runs, Rituraj Gaikwad (45) and Faf du Plessis (41) gave Chennai a good start. Both made excellent shots and also made an opening partnership of 75 runs. This partnership was broken by Jason Holder and Rituraj was caught by Williamson on the very first ball of the 11th over of the innings. Gaikwad hit 4 fours and 2 sixes in his 38-ball innings. Then Moeen Ali took the innings forward with Du Plessis and added 28 runs for the second wicket. Ali (17 off 17 balls) was bowled by Rashid Khan.

Jason Holder gave 2 blows to Chennai in the 16th over of the innings. Suresh Raina (2), who landed at number four, returned cheaply to the pavilion, which was dismissed lbw by Holder. Siddharth Kaul caught Du Plessis on the 5th ball of the same over. He hit 3 fours and 2 sixes in his innings of 36 balls.

Read this also ‘Dravid should be the coach of Team India, Dhoni should remain as mentor’

Earlier, Chennai captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and invited Hyderabad to bat first. The Hyderabad team got the initial blow in the form of Jason Roy, who became the victim of Josh Hazlewood by scoring just 2 runs. Saha made an opening partnership of 23 runs with Roy. After this, captain Kane Williamson took the innings forward but Dwayne Bravo showed him the way to the pavilion on the third ball of the 7th over of the innings.

Young Priyam Garg, who came to bat at number four (7 runs off 10 balls), also could not do much and was caught behind the wicket by Bravo. Saha was caught by Dhoni on the third ball of the 13th over of the innings by Ravindra Jadeja and he missed the half-century by 6 runs. Saha scored 44 runs in 46 balls hitting 1 four and 2 sixes.

Abhishek Sharma hit a brilliant six on Josh Hazlewood in the 17th over of the innings but he was caught by Faf du Plessis on the very next ball. Abhishek hit 1 four and only 1 six in his innings of 13 balls. Abdul Samad (18) also had to return to the pavilion on the 5th ball of the same over when Moeen Ali took his brilliant catch. Samad hit 1 four and only one six in 14 balls. All-rounder Jason Holder (5) was sent to the pavilion by Shardul Thakur. At the same time, Rashid Khan returned unbeaten on 17 runs off 13 balls with the help of 2 fours.

Read Hindi News see more online Live TV News18 Hindi website. Know related to country and abroad and your state, Bollywood, sports world, business News in Hindi.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles