Monday, December 6, 2021

IPL 2021 Final CSK vs KKR Highlights Dhoni leads CSK to fourth IPL title in Dubai

New Delhi. Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s (MS Dhoni) Chennai Super Kings defeated Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) by 27 runs to win the IPL title for the fourth time on the basis of Faf du Plessis’s lucrative innings and excellent return of the bowlers. Batting first after losing the toss, Chennai made a strong score of 192 runs for three wickets. In reply, KKR could not take advantage of the good start and could only manage 165 runs for nine wickets. Du Plessis scored 86 runs in 59 balls, which included seven fours and three sixes, before being dismissed on the last ball of the innings after getting life in the third over.

The veteran South African batsman meanwhile added 61 for the first wicket with Ruturaj Gaikwad (32 off 27 balls) and 63 runs for the second wicket with Robin Uthappa (31 off 15 balls, three sixes) and Moeen Ali ( 37 not out off 20 balls, two fours, three sixes) along with useful partnerships of 68 for the third wicket. On the other hand, Shubman Gill (51 off 43 balls, six fours) and Venkatesh Iyer (50 off 32 balls, five fours, three sixes) got KKR off to a solid start by adding 91 runs for the first wicket but after that they finished eight in 34 runs. Wickets lost.

Apart from the two openers, only Shivam Mavi (20) and Lockie Ferguson (18 not out) in the lower order reached double digits, which only reduced the margin of defeat. Shardul Thakur (3 for 38), Josh Hazlewood (2 for 29), Ravindra Jadeja (2 for 37), Dwayne Bravo (1 for 29) and Deepak Chahar (1 for 32) helped Chennai to make a comeback. Played an important role. Chennai had earlier won titles in 2010, 2011 and 2018 while KKR could not increase their titles in 2012 and 2014. Mumbai Indians has become the champion for the most five times.

Dhoni, playing his 300th match in T20 as captain, celebrated it with the fourth title. Chennai did not reach the playoffs for the first time last year but this time they made a great comeback. Dhoni dropped Iyer’s catch in the second over itself and the batsman took advantage of it and hit a six on Hazlewood. After this, he hit a flurry of fours and took KKR’s score to 55 runs till the powerplay. He welcomed Jadeja by hitting a six at long-on and completed his half-century in 31 balls by taking one run after a six in the next over of the same bowler. Gill remained only Iyer’s ally in the meantime. Luck favored him too and he took advantage of it by hitting two fours on Jadeja.

Read also:

Mahendra Singh Dhoni does not consider himself top-3 or 4 player, said big thing after winning IPL trophy for the fourth time

IPL 2021: Why MS Dhoni said after the final- KKR should have won this trophy

Meanwhile, Dwayne Bravo scored only eight runs in two overs, which increased the pressure on the batsmen. Jadeja took a brilliant catch of Iyer off Thakur, after which the wickets fell. Thakur sent Nitish Rana (nil) to the pavilion in the same over while Hazlewood dismissed Sunil Narine (two) in the next over. Jadeja again took a beautiful catch. Gill completed his half-century in 40 balls with a four on Jadeja but the gap between the ball and the run was increasing. Gill was soon dismissed leg before by Chahar. Dinesh Karthik (nine) could not show any miracle except hitting a six as soon as he came. Jadeja also sent Shakib Al Hasan (zero) to the pavilion in the same over.

Rahul Tripathi, who hit the winning six against Delhi Capitals, came out to bat at No. 8 due to a hamstring strain but was caught at the boundary line while Chahar ensured Chennai’s victory by taking a boundary line catch of Eoin Morgan (4). .

Read Hindi News see more online Live TV News18 Hindi website. Know related to country and abroad and your state, Bollywood, sports world, business News in Hindi.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles