Friday, December 3, 2021

IPL 2021 Final: MS Dhoni becomes first captain on planet to complete 300 matches as captain in T20 Cricket

New Delhi: CSK, captained by Mahendra Singh Dhoni, is playing in their 9th IPL final against KKR today. In this match, KKR have won the toss and are bowling first. In this match, as soon as Dhoni came out for the toss from CSK, he made a record in his name, which big players can not even think about.

Dhoni triple century

Mahendra Singh Dhoni added a special record for Chennai Super Kings in the Indian Premier League (IPL) final against Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) as soon as they came out for the toss here on Friday. He has become the first player in the world to captain 300 matches in T20, the shortest format of cricket. Dhoni made his T20 debut in 2006 and has been captaining India and IPL since 2007. In the 299 matches he captained before the IPL final, he won 176 and lost 118 matches. Two matches ended in ties and three matches did not result.

India won the world cup

India won the first T20 World Cup title in 2007 under Dhoni’s leadership. Under his captaincy, India played a total of 72 matches in T20 Internationals out of which they won 41 and lost 28. One match ended in a tie while two matches did not result. Apart from this, he led the Indian team in various practice matches. Dhoni has captained Chennai Super Kings in 190 matches and Rising Pune Supergiant in 14 matches in IPL. Under his leadership, Chennai won 115 matches in the IPL before the final and lost 73, while the result of one match has not come out.

Big giants left behind

Dhoni also captained Chennai in 23 matches in the Champions League. He did not play only 47 matches in his career as a captain. After Dhoni, the players who have captained in most T20 matches include Darren Sammy (208), Virat Kohli (185), Gautam Gambhir (170) and Rohit Sharma (153).

9th final under Dhoni’s captaincy

Under the captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni, CSK has reached their 9th IPL final this time. This too is a record in itself. Apart from this, CSK has also won the IPL trophy thrice. CSK first won the IPL title in 2010, 2011 and then in 2018. Apart from this, except in 2020, this team has reached the playoff every time.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles