Thursday, October 28, 2021

IPL 2021 Qualifier 2 DC vs KKR Kolkata Knight Riders face tough competition on their way to Delhi Capitals first title

Sharjah. Delhi Capitals team, which is in search of the first Indian Premier League (IPL) title, will face a tough challenge from the in-form Kolkata Knight Riders in the second qualifier here on Wednesday (October 13). Will happen. The team of Delhi Capitals failed in the first major test, when they had to face defeat against Chennai Super Kings in the first qualifier. If the Rishabh Pant-led Delhi Capitals loses against Kolkata Knight Riders (DC vs KKR), their campaign will end here.

There is no doubt that the KKR team is full of confidence after defeating Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in the Eliminator on Monday. If rhythm and showing off your top level game at the right time are the criterion, KKR definitely has the upper hand. Delhi, however, have better players and depth in their team. In the league stage, Delhi were on top with 20 points from 10 wins, but they know their road will not be easy against KKR. Delhi’s team has grown steadily since former Australia captain Ricky Ponting joined as the coach. The team finished third in 2019 while last year managed to make it to the finals.

IPL 2021: 10 players of Team India playing T20 World Cup were out, 4 passes and 6 failed miserably

Along with Delhi’s batting, the bowling is also strong.
This time the team would like to go a step further and win the title. Delhi’s team is one of the most balanced teams of the tournament. Apart from a strong batting line-up, he has an effective fast bowling attack, which gets a lot of support from the legendary spinner Ravichandran Ashwin. The top order of the team is very strong in the presence of Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw and Shreyas Iyer. Rishabh Pant and Shimron Hetmyer give strength to the middle order. Shikhar Dhawan was the second most successful batsman in the last season with 618 runs while in the current season has also scored 551 runs. His opening partner Prithvi also performed effectively against Chennai.

Delhi has won five matches in the UAE phase
In the bowling, the pair of Kagiso Rabada (2020 Purple Cap winner) and his fellow South African fast bowler Enrich Norkia are performing well. Fast bowler Avesh Khan has also taken 23 wickets so far in the current season and he would like to increase his number of wickets against KKR. Delhi have registered five wins in the UAE leg of the tournament but the matches they have lost include a loss against KKR and the team could not get a better match than the play-offs for revenge.

KKR make a strong comeback in the UAE phase
But the road to Delhi will not be easy as Eoin Morgan’s team has made a spectacular comeback in the UAE leg after a poor performance in the first leg in India. The team was able to make it to the play-offs by beating five-time champions Mumbai Indians due to better net run rate. Kolkata’s team’s performance in the second leg in the UAE has improved significantly and Morgan’s team will not be easy to beat if the performance against Royal Challengers Bangalore is to be considered. On a spin-friendly pitch, the spin duo of Varun Chakraborty and Sunil Narine will test Delhi’s strong batting line-up.

When will Team India get a new coach in place of Ravi Shastri, BCCI informed

Qualifier 2 winning team will take on CSK in the final
KKR’s batting has not been its strong side in the current season and Delhi team will try to take advantage of it. The team will expect a good start from Shubman Gill, Venkatesh Iyer and Rahul Tripathi (the team’s top scorer in the current season with 393 runs so far) while KKR will expect a bigger innings from Morgan if they want to make it to the final. The winning team of this match will face Chennai Super Kings in the final.

The teams are as follows:

Delhi Capitals: Rishabh Pant (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Prithvi Shaw, Ripple Patel, Shikhar Dhawan, Shimrom Hetmyar, Shreyas Iyer, Steve Smith, Amit Mishra, Anrique Norkia, Avesh Khan, Ben Dwarshuis, Ishant Sharma, Kagiso Rabada, Kulwant Khejroliya, Lukman Meriwala, Praveen Dubey, Tom Curran, Umesh Yadav, Axar Patel, Lalit Yadav, Marcus Stoinis, Ravichandran Ashwin, Sam Billings and Vishnu Vinod.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Eoin Morgan (Captain), Dinesh Karthik, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Karun Nair, Nitish Rana, Rahul Tripathi, Shubman Gill, Harbhajan Singh, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Kuldeep Yadav, Lockie Ferguson, Pawan Negi, M Pranand Krishna, Sandeep Warrier, Shivam Dubey, Tim Southee, Vaibhav Arora, Varun Chakravarthy, Andre Russell, Ben Cutting, Shakib Al Hasan, Sunil Narine, Venkatesh Iyer, Sheldon Jackson and Tim Seifert.

Time: The match will start at 7.30 pm Indian time.

Read Hindi News see more online Live TV News18 Hindi website. Know related to country and abroad and your state, Bollywood, sports world, business News in Hindi.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles