Saturday, December 4, 2021

IPL 2022 Delhi Capitals to retain Rishabh Pant Prithvi Shah Axar Patel and Anrich Nortje – Latest Cricket News

All the franchises are busy finalizing the list of retained players for IPL 2022. Meanwhile, the 2020 finalists Delhi Capitals have completed their list of retained players. In this, the Delhi team will not retain Shikhar Dhawan, who scored the most runs for the team in the last two seasons. Apart from Dhawan, the team has also decided to release Ravichandran Ashwin and Kagiso Rabada. At the same time, the team management has decided to retain players like Prithvi Shaw, Axar Patel, wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant and Enrique Nortje.

According to a report in InsideSport, Rishabh Pant will captain Delhi Capitals in the upcoming season. The team has decided not to retain Shreyas Iyer, Ashwin, Shikhar Dhawan, Kagiso Rabada. It has been decided to retain Prithvi Shaw and Axar Patel. Dhawan has been the highest run-scorer for the team in IPL 2020 and 2021. Despite this, the team has made up its mind to release him. Sources said, “Shikhar is now around 36. The players are being retained for the next 3 seasons and the franchise wants to retain those players who can play for the team for the next three years. Apart from this, Dhawan’s strike rate has also been a matter of concern.

IPL 2022: Eoin Morgan ready to leave the captaincy of Kolkata Knight Riders, it was difficult to stay in the team!

All four retained players are young as compared to Shikhar and the team management believes that he will be the center of the team for the next three years. Rishabh Pant is 24 years old, Prithvi Shaw is 22 years old, Axar Patel is 27 years old and Enrique Nortje is 28 years old. Dhawan, Ravichandran Ashwin and Kagiso Rabada can now appear in the auction for IPL 2022.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles