IPL 2022: The story of IPL 2016 is being repeated. In the current season, Gujarat is on top, will get a new champion?

New Delhi. IPL 2022 is special in itself. In the current season of T20 league, 2 new teams have got a chance for the first time. These teams are Gujraj Titans and Lucknow Super Giants. Under the leadership of Hardik Pandya, Gujarat (Gujarat Titans) has performed amazingly so far. The team has won 7 out of 8 matches played so far. The team occupies the number-1 position in the table. You will also remember IPL 2016 before this. Even then 2 new teams were given place for the first time. CSK and Rajasthan Royals were banned for 2 years due to spot-fixing. Gujarat Lions and Pune Super Giants were included in their place. Then the team of Gujarat was on top after the league round. That is, there are many similarities in these 2 seasons. Let us tell you about this in detail.

A total of 8 teams had landed in IPL 2016. Gujarat Lions won 9 out of 14 matches of the league round. The team was on top with 18 points. The team of Mumbai Indians could not even make it to the playoffs and it was at number 5. Talking about IPL 2022, Mumbai has been out of the playoff race after 8 consecutive defeats. This is also a coincidence. Sunrisers Hyderabad won the T20 league title for the first time in 2016. So will we get a new champion in 2022 as well? For this one will have to wait till May 29, when the final will be played.

Gujarat lost the knockout match by staying on top

Gujarat Lions had a great performance in the league round in 2016. But the team could not maintain this performance in the knockout rounds. In Qualifier-1, he was defeated by RCB by 4 wickets. At the same time, once again in Qualifier-2, they were defeated by Sunrisers Hyderabad by 4 wickets. In the final, Hyderabad defeated RCB by 8 runs in a close match. Playing first, Hyderabad had scored 208 runs for 7 wickets. In reply, RCB’s team could only score 200 runs for 7 wickets.

IPL 2022: Kuldeep Yadav said- I sincerely want Chahal to win the Purple Cap, also gave an emotional reason

DC vs KKR: Warner created history, the only player to do so in IPL, leaving behind Rohit Sharma

Title to only 5 teams

Talking about the current season of IPL, only 5 teams out of 10 participating in the tournament have won the title so far. Mumbai Indians have captured 5 titles the most times. CSK has won 4 times, KKR twice while Rajasthan Royals and Sunrisers Hyderabad have won once each. Apart from Delhi Capitals, Punjab Kings, Royal Challengers Bangalore, 2 new teams are waiting for the first title. Apart from these teams, Deccan Chargers also won the T20 league title in 2009.

Tags: Gujarat Titans, IPL, IPL 2022, Lucknow Super Giants, Mumbai Indians, Sunrisers Hyderabad

Leave a Comment