Controversy over giving LBW to Rohit Sharma
Former cricketer raised questions on the decision
New Delhi. Rohit Sharma’s team Mumbai Indians made a comeback in IPL 2023. But, the hitman was cheated. That too at his home i.e. Wankhede Stadium. Actually, Rohit Sharma was given LBW in the review against Royal Challengers Bangalore. Not only the fans of Mumbai Indians, but former cricketers like Mohammad Kaif and Munaf Patel are also unhappy with this.
Rohit Sharma was dismissed LBW by leg-spinner Wanindu Hasaranga in the match against RCB. When the ball on which Rohit was given LBW hit his leg, the captain of Mumbai Indians was far out of the crease. In such a situation, a dispute arose when he was given out. Mohammad Kaif tweeted, “Hello DRS, isn’t it a little too much? How can it be LBW?
Apart from Kaif, Munaf Patel also tweeted and called the decision to give LBW to Rohit wrong. He wrote, “Looks like DRS should also have DRS now. Unlucky #RohitSharma kya batti janta, is he out or not? ,
Question on giving LBW to Rohit
In the 5th over of Mumbai’s innings, a ball from Hasaranga hit Rohit’s pad. Rohit was out of the crease. RCB appealed for LBW. But, the field umpire turned it down. After this, RCB captain Faf Duplesey took DRS and the third umpire declared Rohit out. Rohit was also very hurt by this and returned to the pavilion disappointed. Because when the ball hit Rohit’s pad, he was far out of the crease. But, the TV umpire gave Rohit out after seeing in the replay that the ball would have hit the stumps. While the rules say something else.
VIDEO: Bat or hammer? MI batsman hit such a shot that the ball fell straight on the car, will be a big advantage
Frustration of hosting the Asia Cup, Pakistan trying to create hurdles in the World Cup! Now tried a new trick
What does the 3 meter rule of LBW say?
According to the 3 meter rule related to DRS in the playing conditions of IPL, when the ball hits the leg of the batsman, if during that time he is 3 meters or more away from the stumps, then he cannot be out. If you see Rohit’s video or pictures, he is seen standing far away from the stumps when the ball hits the pad. That is, his case is also being seen under this rule. In such a situation, it seems wrong to give them out just by citing the ball hitting the stumps. Because he is seen standing 3 meters away from the stumps. Now the decision is over, the match is over and it is good that Mumbai Indians won. But, giving LBW out to Rohit started a fresh debate on the rule.
First read breaking news in Hindi News18 Hindi| Read today’s latest news, live news updates, most reliable Hindi news website News18 Hindi.
Tags: IPL 2023, mumbai indians, Rohit sharma, Suryakumar Yadav
FIRST PUBLISHED : May 10, 2023, 09:28 IST