IPL’s ‘unlucky-quartet!, four batsmen remained unbeaten on 99 runs, three of them from India

New Delhi. This time in IPL-2023 (IPL 2023), a new record was made in terms of centuries. 12 centuries were scored in this season, which is the most in a season. Out of these 12 centuries, three were scored by Shubman Gill and two by Virat Kohli. The previous record was of 8 centuries which was made in IPL-2022. Among these 12 centuries, Shikhar Dhawan of Punjab Kings was such an unlucky batsman who remained not out after scoring 99 runs. He missed out on being included in this season’s list of ‘centuries’ by one run. Including Shikhar, four batsmen have been not out on 99 runs in the IPL so far, including three Indian players.

Suresh Raina of CSK against SRH
Suresh Raina was the first batsman to remain unbeaten on 99 runs in IPL. In the match against Sunrisers in the year 2013, CSK needed three runs to win while Raina needed 5 runs to complete his century. Raina was able to hit a four in the form of a winning shot and returned unbeaten while being one run away from the century.

Chris Gayle of KXIP against RCB
Chris Gayle has scored a ton of centuries while playing for Royal Challengers Bangalore in IPL. However, Gayle played for Kings XI Punjab in 2019 and remained unbeaten on 99 against RCB. During this innings, Gayle reached 99 runs by hitting a four on the 5th ball of the 20th over but could not take a single on the last ball and scored 99 runs. Got stuck on the run.

Mayank Agarwal of KXIP against DC
Mayank Agarwal of Kings XI Punjab was not out on 99 against Delhi Capitals in IPL-2021. With the help of Mayank’s brilliant innings, Punjab finished their innings at 166 runs. However, despite his innings, the Delhi Capitals team was successful in winning the match.

Shikhar Dhawan of Punjab Kings against SRH

In the match against Sunrisers Hyderabad, Shikhar Dhawan scored an unbeaten 99 off 66 balls with the help of 12 fours and 5 sixes. Despite this innings of Dhawan, Punjab Kings (formerly known as Kings XI Punjab) could only score 143 runs losing 9 wickets in 20 overs. Apart from Shikhar, the contribution of all other batters was 38 runs. 6 runs were also included as extras in Punjab’s score. In response, Sunrisers achieved the target by losing only two wickets with the help of Rahul Tripathi’s 74 runs.

Tags: chris gayle, indian premier league, IPL, mayank agarwal, shikhar dhawan, Suresh Raina

Leave a Comment