LSG vs DC, IPL 2023: Challenge of improvement in captaincy and batting on Rahul, Delhi will miss Rishabh Pant


The match between Lucknow and Delhi will start at 7.30 pm.
Lucknow’s captain is Rahul and Delhi’s David Warner.

Lucknow. After being relieved of the responsibility of the vice-captain of the Indian team, Lokesh Rahul, who is leading the Lucknow Super Giants, will find rhythm with the bat when he takes the field against Delhi Capitals in the Indian Premier League (IPL 2023) on Saturday, April 1. Along with doing, there will be a challenge to prove leadership skills as well. The Lucknow team will play at their home ground for the first time. Under the leadership of Rahul, the team reached the playoffs in its inaugural season of the league last year, but Rahul’s bat has not lived up to the expectations for some time now.

The Delhi team has suffered a setback in the absence of Rishabh Pant’s title chances, but they have an aggressive opener like David Warner as captain. Warner, who won Sunrisers Hyderabad the title under his leadership, would like to achieve such success for Delhi as well. However, coach Ricky Ponting’s team will expect more from Mitchell Marsh than Warner. Marsh hit 12 sixes in the three-match ODI series against India.

The ‘infamous cricketer’ who had predicted his death a decade ago, Sachin Tendulkar was also in awe

Sarfaraz Khan will be responsible for wicketkeeping
If Warner and opener Prithvi Shaw fail to give a fast start to the team, then Mitchell Marsh can make up for it in two-three overs. Warner is one of the most successful batsmen of IPL, but his performance has declined in the recent past. There will be additional pressure of wicketkeeping on Sarfaraz Khan and Yash Dhull is still young. In such a situation, the team will expect fast batting from Akshar Patel in the last overs.

Enrique Norkia and Mustafizur Rahman will not play in this match
Foreign bowlers like Anrich Norkia and Mustafizur Rahman will not be available for selection in this match due to serving the national team. There is a dearth of good Indian players in Delhi’s fast bowling department. Khaleel Ahmed is making a comeback after a back operation while Ishant Sharma is no longer the sharp bowler he used to be. The eight-over spin bowling of Akshar and Kuldeep Yadav will be very important for the team.

Thinking will have to be done on the opening of Lucknow’s innings
Lucknow will have to think a lot for the selection of the one who starts the innings with Rahul. The team will miss the experienced wicket-keeper batsman Quinton Dickock in the first two matches, who will come to India late due to the services of the national team. In such a situation, Kyle Myers or Deepak Hooda of West Indies can start the innings with Rahul. Myers has done well for the West Indies while Hooda has also scored a century as an opener for India.

Do you remember RCB’s mystery girl, went viral in IPL 2019, see how much her look has changed

There is no sharpness in the bowling of the team
There is a lack of sharpness in the fast bowling of the team. Mohsin Khan, who performed brilliantly last year, is out for the opening matches due to injury. Mark Wood also often gets injured, in such a situation the responsibility will be on Avesh Khan and Jaidev Unadkat.

The biggest strength of the team though is the list of all-rounders. India’s Hooda, Krunal Pandya, Krishnappa Gautam, Prerak Mankad along with international all-rounders like Marcus Stoinis, Daniel Sams, Myers and Romario Shepherd are present in the team. In the spin department, there will be players like experienced Indian bowler Amit Mishra along with Ravi Bishnoi.

Both the teams are as follows:

Delhi Capitals: David Warner (c), Prithvi Shaw, Mitchell Marsh, Manish Pandey, Rovman Powell, Riley Rossouw, Sarfaraz Khan, Phil Salt, Abhishek Porel, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Lalit Yadav, Ripple Patel, Ishant Sharma, Chetan Sakaria, Khaleel Ahmed , Aman Hakim Khan, Praveen Dubey, Kamlesh Nagerkoti, Yash Dhul, Mukesh Kumar, Vicky Ostwal.

Lucknow Super Giants: Lokesh Rahul (captain), Kyle Myers, Deepak Hooda, Kunal Pandya, Amit Mishra, Nicholas Pooran, Naveen-ul-Haq, Ayush Badoni, Avesh Khan, Karan Sharma, Yudhveer Charak, Yash Thakur, Romario Shepherd, Mark Wood, Swapnil Singh, Manan Vohra, Daniel Symes, Prerak Mankad, Krishnappa Gautam, Jaydev Unadkat, Marcus Stoinis, Ravi Bishnoi, Mayank Yadav.

Tags: david warner, delhi capitals, IPL 2023, KL Rahul, Lucknow Super Giants, Rishabh Pant

Leave a Comment