Thursday, October 28, 2021

On this day champions trophy 2002 bizarre rain rule results in joint winners

New Delhi. The fans of Team India remember very well today i.e. 30th September. The Champions Trophy 2002 final on 30 September 2002 could not be completed even in 2 days due to rain. 110.4 overs were bowled in the match. But due to the special rules of the ICC, the result of the match could not come out. Due to this both India and Sri Lanka were declared joint winners. Only once in the history of the Champions Trophy, so far 2 teams have become joint champions.

The Champions Trophy was held in Sri Lanka. A total of 12 teams had entered the tournament. Team India defeated South Africa in the semi-finals while Sri Lanka defeated Australia. The final match was to be held on 29 September. Batting first, Sri Lanka scored 244 runs in the stipulated 50 overs at the Premadasa Stadium in Colombo. Captain Sanath Jasuriya scored 74 and Kumar Sangakkara scored 54 runs. Off-spinner Harbhajan Singh took 3 wickets for 27 runs. In reply, India had scored 14 runs in 2 overs without a wicket. After this the match could not be played due to rain.

The match started anew the next day

According to ICC rules, the final match was started afresh on 30 September Reserve Day. Sri Lanka won the toss and decided to bat once again. This time Jayasuriya and Sangakkara failed. Mahela Jayawardene scored 74 and Russell Arnold scored 56 not out. Left arm fast bowler Zaheer Khan took 3 wickets for 44 runs. In response, Team India scored 38 runs for one wicket in 8.4 overs till the game was stopped due to rain. Dinesh Mogiya got out for zero. Virender Sehwag remained unbeaten on 25 and Sachin Tendulkar scored 7 runs. In this way, a total of 110.4 overs was played in the final of two days, but the result did not come. Usually an ODI match is of 100 overs.

Also read: IPL 2021: Harshal Patel made a big record for RCB, now Dhoni’s favorite player is on target

Also read: IPL 2021: RCB gives chance to fast bowler, takes wicket on every 14th ball; Has done wonders with the bat too

India and Australia became champions 2-2 times

ICC started the Champions Trophy in 1998. In the first season held in Bangladesh, the team of South Africa became the champion. The team defeated West Indies in the final. So far there have been a total of 8 seasons of the tournament. India and Australia have won the title twice each. Apart from this, New Zealand, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and West Indies also won the title once each. The tournament was postponed since 2017. But the ICC has decided to reinstate it. The next 2 seasons are to be held in 2025 and 2029.

Read Hindi News see more online Live TV News18 Hindi website. Know related to country and abroad and your state, Bollywood, sports world, business News in Hindi.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles