R Ashwin among 4 players shortlisted for ICC Men’s Test Player of the Year award – Latest Cricket News


India off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin has found a place in the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) list of four players named as the best Test cricketer of the year. The 35-year-old Ashwin has also scored 337 runs in eight Tests in the last one year at an average of 16.23 besides taking 52 wickets at 28.08 with the help of a century. Apart from Ashwin, England captain Joe Root, New Zealand pacer Kyle Jamieson and Sri Lankan opener Dimuth Karunaratne were also nominated for the award. The award winners will be announced on January 24.

Australia won the Boxing Day Test, see the status of the latest World Test Championship points table

“One of India’s greatest match-winners in the longest format, R Ashwin once again established himself as one of the world’s top spinners in 2021,” the ICC said in a statement. Apart from his magic with the ball, Ashwin made a useful contribution with the bat as well. Ashwin made a good start to the year with a patient innings of 29 off 128 balls against Australia in the Sydney Test. Thanks to his partnership with Hanuma Vihari, India were able to draw that Test and hold the series 1-1. Ashwin was adjudged the player of the series against England at home. He contributed 189 runs with the bat in addition to taking 32 wickets in four matches at an average of 14.72.

Shardul Thakur revealed the secret of his success, said – once on the field, confidence is everything for me

The off-spinner also picked up four wickets against New Zealand in the ICC World Test Championship final in Southampton on a fast bowler-friendly pitch. After being out of the playing XI in all four Tests in England, Ashwin once again shone on home soil against New Zealand. He was once again adjudged Player of the Series for taking 14 wickets in two matches at an average of 11.36 and batting in the Kanpur Test.

The ICC Awards consist of a total of 13 individual awards and a total of five awards for the best team of the year across all formats of men’s and women’s cricket. Cricket’s apex body said the winners of each category would be announced in January. The ICC teams of the year will be announced on January 17 and 18.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this