Rituraj Gaikwad has a big chance, only 3 matches and will give gold to Team India, still empty handed

New Delhi. Rituraj Gaikwad has got the command of Team India. He has been made the captain for the Asian Games to be held in China. The Indian team will enter the games in the first innings. Earlier in 2010 and 2014, the BCCI did not send the team to the games. The matches are to be played from 28 September to 8 October on the basis of T20 format. A total of 18 teams are participating in it. According to the rules, on June 1, 2023, the teams in the top-4 will get a chance directly in the quarter-finals. The Indian team is currently occupying number-1 in the rankings. Bangladesh won the gold medal in 2010 and Sri Lanka in 2014. Afghanistan was successful in winning silver both times. Pakistan got the bronze medal in 2010 and Bangladesh in 2014.

The matches in the Asian Games will be on knockout basis. That means the losing team will be out. Under the captaincy of Rituraj Gaikwad, the team will directly enter the quarter-finals. In such a situation, he will have to win 3 matches to win the gold medal. India and Pakistan can compete in the semi-finals or finals. ODI World Cup will start in India from 5 October. For this reason, the youth team is being sent for the Asian Games. Many players have been successful in making a place in the team for the first time. This includes from Jitesh Sharma to Prabhsimran Singh. Both of them showed amazing performance with the bat in IPL 2023.

Maximum 2 gold in the name of Pakistan
Pakistan has won 2 out of 4 gold so far in the women’s and men’s category in the Asian Games. Both the golds have been won by the women’s team. On the other hand, talking about the number of medals, Bangladesh has won maximum 4 medals. In the men’s category, Bangladesh won gold in 2010 and bronze in 2014. And in the women’s category, the team has got the silver medal both the times.

Shabbir played aggressive innings
Talking about the Asian Games 2010, Afghanistan scored 118 runs for 8 wickets in the final while playing first. Asghar Afghan scored the maximum 38 runs. In reply, Bangladesh achieved the target for 5 wickets in 19.3 overs. Shabbir Rahman scored an unbeaten 33 off 18 balls to give the team a thrilling victory. He also hit 3 sixes. Naeem Islam remained unbeaten after scoring 34 runs off 41 balls.

India and Pakistan match date fixed in Asia Cup, will clash 3 times in 15 days! Rohit will take revenge on Babar

While looking at the 2014 final, Sri Lanka scored 133 runs while batting first. Captain Lahiru Thirimanne scored 57 runs. Mohammad Nabi took maximum 4 wickets. In response, Afghanistan’s team got all out for 65 runs. 8 batsmen could not reach double figures. Jeevan Mendis took maximum 3 wickets.

Tags: Asian Games, Ruturaj Gaikwad, team india

Leave a Comment