Rohit Sharma, who won 5 IPL titles, failed in ICC tournament, Dhoni won 3 out of 4 finals, Kohli also empty-handed

New Delhi. Even under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma, Team India could not do anything amazing in the ICC tournament till now. In the final of the second season of the World Test Championship, Australia defeated the Indian team by 209 runs. Chasing the target of 444 runs on the last day, the Indian team was reduced to 234 runs. Off-spinner Nathan Lyon took 4 wickets in the second innings. Talking about the match, Australia scored 469 runs in the first innings and 270 runs in the second innings. The Indian team could score only 296 runs in the first innings. With this, the Kangaroo team has created history by winning all the ICC tournaments.

Rohit Sharma proved his mettle in IPL as captain. He has won the T20 league title to Mumbai Indians 5 times. But even in the ICC tournament, he could not do anything amazing. Talking about the T20 World Cup held in Australia last year, the Indian team could not progress beyond the semi-finals. England defeated India by 10 wickets in the semi-finals. Now even in the final of the World Test Championship, the team got defeated under the captaincy of Rohit. Whereas MS Dhoni won 3 ICC titles as captain.

won 3 out of 4 finals
Former veteran MS Dhoni took Team India to the finals of ICC tournaments 4 times. Out of this, the Indian team was successful in winning 3 titles. First Dhoni won the T20 World Cup title in 2007. Then the team was successful in winning the ODI World Cup in 2011. India then got the ODI title after 28 years. After this, under the captaincy of Dhoni, the team won the Champions Trophy title by defeating England in 2013. However, in 2014, under Dhoni’s captaincy, the Indian team lost to Sri Lanka in the final of the T20 World Cup.

Talking about other Indian captain, he has appeared in the final of ICC tournament 7 times and has won only one title. India won the ODI World Cup title in 1983 under the captaincy of Kapil Dev. This was the team’s first title of the ICC tournament. The team lost the Champions Trophy title in 2000 and 2017. The result of 2002 has not been included in this because then the final could not be played due to rain. India and Sri Lanka became joint champions.

Team India is the real bran, lost 10 years and 9 ICC tournaments, 4 finals and 4 semi-finals

In 2003, the Indian team was defeated by Australia in the final of the ODI World Cup. Then Sourav Ganguly was the captain. Then the team could not win the 2017 Champions Trophy title as well. Pakistan defeated the team captained by Virat Kohli. After this, the final of the World Test Championship of 2021 and 2023 also brought pain for the team.

Tags: ms dhoni, Rohit sharma, team india, WTC Final

Leave a Comment