Ross Taylor retirement from international cricket on this day will play the last ODI series against Netherlands

New Zealand Cricket has announced the squad for the upcoming T20 and ODI series against Netherlands. Senior player Ross Taylor has been included in the three-match ODI series and this will be his last series. Ross Taylor has announced his retirement in December 2021. On 30 December, while giving information about his retirement, he wrote that he would retire from red ball cricket after the two-Test series against Bangladesh and after playing 6 ODIs against Australia and Netherlands. However, Australia canceled the tour of New Zealand, due to which Ross Taylor will get a chance to play only three ODIs.

New Zealand has to play the only T20 match against Netherlands on 25 March. After this, a three-match ODI series will be played between the two teams, the first match will be played on March 29, while the second and third matches will be played on April 2 and 4 respectively. Taylor will play his last ODI match on 4 April in Hamilton.

In the absence of Kane Williamson, Tom Latham has got the responsibility of captaining both the teams. 12 Kiwi players including Kane Williamson will take part in IPL 2022 starting from 26 March.

New Zealand coach Gary Stead said, “When you don’t have top 12 players in your team, you have to face a lot of difficulties, but we are happy that the new player is getting the opportunity. The T20 World Cup later this year and the next The year is the ODI World Cup, so this is the right time to form a group of new players.

All-rounder Michael Bracewell and wicketkeeper-batsman Dane Cleaver have made it to the team for the first time in white-ball cricket against the Netherlands. While Bracewell has been selected for both the ODI and T20I teams, Cleaver will play only T20Is.

New Zealand ODI squad: Tom Latham (c, wk), Doug Bracewell, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Henry Nicholls, Ish Sodhi, Ross Taylor, Blair Tickner, Will Young

New Zealand T20I squad: Tom Latham (c), Doug Bracewell, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Dane Cleaver (wk), Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Scott Kuggeleijn, Ben Sears, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner, Will Young

Leave a Comment