Shock to James Neesham, New Zealand Cricket out of central contract

Wellington. New Zealand Cricket announced the central contract for the upcoming season 2022-23. There have been some important changes in the central contracts announced by the board. Left-arm spinner Ejaz Patel is back in the list. At the same time, all-rounder Michael Bracewell has got a place in the central contract for the first time. While veteran all-rounder James Neesham has not been included in the list of 20 players. Neesham performed brilliantly in the year 2019 and took the team to the finals of the world. He also represented New Zealand in the T20 World Cup played in the UAE last year.

James Neesham played his last test match in 2017. He has played only 9 T20 Internationals in the last one year. During this his performance was not good. Bracewell has been included in the contract in place of Neesham. He was recently included in New Zealand’s Test team for the tour of England. Bracewell made his international debut in March this year against the Netherlands.

Opportunity based on talent
In a statement issued by New Zealand Cricket, head coach Gary Stead said, “It was very difficult to finalize the list of 20 players.” Ross Taylor is out of a central contract for the first time since 2006. He retired from international cricket after playing the ODI series against the Netherlands. According to the head coach, “The busy international calendar means we are adding players on the basis of talent. Michael Bracewell is a testament to talent. He is consistently performing well in domestic cricket. We definitely see him as a potential in all three formats.”

read also

What is the difference between switch hit and reverse sweep? Know how and how much practice is done in nets

IPL 2022: Tilak Verma will soon become the captain of Mumbai Indians, Rohit Sharma also said a big thing

These players got a place
New Zealand Cricket has given 20 players a place in its central contract for the upcoming cricket season. The cricketers who have been included by the board in their annual contracts are Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Michael Bracewell, Devon Conway, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Ejaz Patel, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner, Kane Williamson, and Will Young.

Tags: Cricket news, James Neesham, New Zealand cricket

Leave a Comment