SL vs PAK: Pakistan selected 18-man team for the Test series against Sri Lanka, Yasir got a chance

New Delhi. The Pakistani team will tour Sri Lanka next month for a 2-match Test series. Earlier, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Wednesday announced an 18-man squad for the series, which includes the return of experienced leg-spinner Yasir Shah along with some new young faces. 36-year-old Yasir played a Test match against West Indies last year. Babar Azam will lead the team, the series will be part of the World Test Championship.

The 2 Test matches of the series will be played at Galle International Cricket Stadium and R Premadasa International Cricket Stadium. The Pakistani team will also play a 3-day warm-up match before the first Test starting on July 16. Pakistan last played a Test series in 2015 in Sri Lanka, when they defeated the hosts 2-1. Pakistan’s chief selector Mohammad Wasim will expect similar efforts from his players this time as well.

see also Players of India and Pakistan will play T20 World Cup with one team, chance for more than half a dozen

Wasim said in a statement issued by the PCB, ‘We have selected this team considering the conditions of Sri Lanka. Both these matches are very important for our team as we have World Test Championship points at stake. I wish my team all the best. I am sure they will do well and register a win.

Spin all-rounder Salman Ali Agha has also got a chance in the team. Salman has consistently performed well with the bat in the last three seasons and he also bowls off-spin. Aga has been in excellent form in the domestic circuit and will try to learn some nuances from experienced leg-spinner Yasir Shah. Apart from this, 35-year-old left arm spinner Nauman Ali has also been selected for the series.

Pakistan squad for test series against Sri Lanka: Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan (vice-captain, wicket-keeper), Abdullah Shafiq, Azhar Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Fawad Alam, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Nauman Ali, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Afridi, Shan Masood and Yasir Shah

Tags: Babar Azam, Pakistan cricket, Sri Lanka Cricket Team

Leave a Comment