Sports Podcast: Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli get rest, Lokesh Rahul will lead Indian team in T20 series

frenSpain’s Rafael Nadal has maintained his red gravel reign by winning the men’s singles title of Open Tennis for the 14th time. Fifth seed Rafael Nadal defeated eighth seed Norway’s Casper Roode 6-3, 6-3 and 6-0 in the title clash that lasted 2 hours and 18 minutes in Paris on Sunday. 36-year-old Rafael Nadal has also become the oldest player to win the French Open.

Nadal has not lost the final of the French Open till date. That’s why Nadal is called the King of Clay Court. He had come to play the 14th final of the French Open. Nadal has won 14 French Open titles from 2005 to 2022. Nadal reached the final of the Grand Slam for the 30th time in his tennis career. This is Nadal’s 22nd Grand Slam title. By winning the Australian Open 2022 final, he broke Roger Federer and Novak Djokovic’s record of winning the most 20-20 Grand Slam titles.

On the other hand, world number one player Inga Swiatek of Poland won the French Open women’s singles title. In the title match played on Saturday, 21-year-old Inga Sviatake defeated American youngster Coco Gauff 6-1 and 6-3 in straight sets to win the women’s title of the French Open for the second time. Simultaneously, Sviatec equaled the record of Venus Williams in terms of winning the most consecutive matches in this century, that is, after the year 2000. After winning his sixth consecutive title this year, Sviatec celebrated with his friends and family and has a 42-3 win-loss record this season.

Temba Bavuma and Lokesh Rahul will face each other as captain in the series of five T20 International matches between India and South Africa. Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli have been rested for this series. The first match of the series is on 9 June at Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi, the second on 12 June in Cuttack, the third match on 14 June in Visakhapatnam, the fourth T20 match on 17 June in Rajkot and the fifth final T20 match on 19 June in Bangalore. It will be played at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium. All matches will start at 7 pm Indian time.

According to the previous records, India has the upper hand in the series. So far 15 T20 matches have been played between India and South Africa. During this, India has won 9 matches. Whereas in 6 matches he has to face defeat. The last T20 match between the two teams was played in Bangalore in September 2019. In this match, India had to face defeat by 9 wickets. Whereas earlier in the match played in Mohali, India won by 7 wickets.

The knockout round matches of the Ranji Trophy 2021-22 season began on 6 June with quarter-final matches at four different grounds in Bangalore. Significantly, the Ranji Trophy season, which started late due to Corona infection, is being organized in two phases with a new format this year. According to the schedule, in February-March, under the league stage matches, all 38 teams got to play 3-3 league matches in different 8 elite and one plate groups. Now eight teams that have qualified after IPL, Bengal, Madhya Pradesh, Mumbai, Karnataka, Punjab, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh and Jharkhand are playing five-day Ranji Trophy quarterfinal matches. In the quarterfinal matches, Bengal is facing Jharkhand, Mumbai is facing Uttarakhand, Karnataka is facing Uttar Pradesh and Punjab is facing Madhya Pradesh. The semi-final match will be played from June 14 to June 18 and the title match from June 22 to June 26. Rain and yellow alert have been issued in Bangalore during these matches. Matches can also be affected by this.

South Korea has won the title of Hockey Asia Cup 2022, Korea won the trophy by defeating Malaysia by two goals in the final of the tournament. This is the fifth title of the Korean team in the Hockey Asia Cup. Earlier, India’s youth hockey team won the bronze medal in the Asia Cup by defeating Japan 1-0 in the match played on Wednesday.

Khelo India Youth Games 2022 has started. This time Haryana is hosting Khelo India Youth Games. The Khelo India Youth Games, which started in Panchkula from June 4, will run till June 13. Apart from Tau Devi Lal Stadium in Panchkula, events are also being played in Chandigarh, Delhi, Shahbad and Ambala. Around 8500 players are participating in Khelo India Youth Games. For the first time in 2018, the Khelo India Games were organized in India. After which this is the fourth time the Games are being organized, because last year due to Corona, the games could not be held.

And finally, six members of the Indian para shooting contingent, including two-time Paralympic para shooter Sinhraj Adhana, could not get visas to France. Because of this, half a dozen players will not be able to play in the Para Shooting World Cup 2022. The Government of India had also taken the initiative to provide visas for Singhraj Adhana and the remaining 5 players, but they could not get the visa.
That’s all today in the weekly special sports bulletin of News 18 Hindi Podcast. We will be back again with the latest sports news. For then allow Naveen Srivastava. Hello.

Tags: Cricket news, India vs South Africa, News18 Podcast, podcast

Leave a Comment