Sri Lanka name two spinners for first T20 against Australia in Colombo

Sri Lanka has announced its playing XI for the first T20 International cricket match (Sri Lanka vs Australia, 1st T20I) against Australia at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on Tuesday. All-rounder Dasun Shanaka will captain the team. Apart from them, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dushmantha Chamira, Mahish Teeksha, Chamika Karunaratne and Bhanuka Rajapaksa, who performed brilliantly in IPL 2022, have returned to the playing XI. At the same time, Pathum Nisanka and Kusal Mendis have also been included in the team. Matisha Pathirana will have to wait a little longer for her debut.

Sarfaraz scored a century in Ranji, became the second such batsman after Bradman

Sri Lanka suffered a crushing 1-4 loss in the T20I series in Australia this year, but he is expected to give a better performance at home. The Australian team had announced its playing XI on Monday itself. The Kangaroos included three fast bowlers in their team. Apart from this, David Warner and Steve Smith have also returned to the playing XI. Pat Cummins has been rested while Adam Zampa will not be able to be a part of the series due to the birth of his first child. Mitchell Marsh, Warner, Glenn Maxwell and Steve Smith were not part of the squad for the T20Is against Sri Lanka in February and the T20Is against Pakistan in April.

This star player will prove to be ‘X factor’ for India in T20 series

Related news

Sri Lanka and Australia playing XI for the first T20:

Sri Lanka: Pathum Nisanka, Danupathum Nisanka, Danushka Gunathilaka, Charit Aslanka, Kusal Mendis, Bhanuka Rajapakse, Dasun Shanaka (Captain), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dusmantha Chamira, Mahesh Thekshana, Nuwan Thushara.

Australia: Aaron Finch (c), David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Ashton Agar, Mitchell Starc, Kane Richardson, Josh Hazlewood.

Leave a Comment