T20 World Cup 2021 Finalists Australia and New Zealand grapple with catch-22 toss problem – Latest Cricket News


Australia face New Zealand in the final of the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium today. Australia captain Aaron Finch has won the toss and decided to bowl first. Finch has won the toss for the sixth time out of seven in the T20 World Cup. He has also lost the toss only four times in the last 22 T20 Internationals. We are mentioning the toss here again and again because the toss has almost always been in Australia’s favor and the kangaroos have won matches after winning the toss, whatever the match.

New Zealand won the toss in the 50-over World Cup final in 2015 and elected to bat first. In that match, the Kiwi team had to face the title defeat against Australia. After this New Zealand won the toss in the 50-over World Cup final in 2019 and decided to bat first. New Zealand had to face defeat against England in that match. Now New Zealand has lost the toss in the final of T20 World Cup 2021 and has to bat first.

If it is said that New Zealand’s team has lost half the match with the loss of the toss, then it will not be wrong, because the figures are testimony to it. Talking about the Dubai International Cricket Stadium, here in the last 17 day-night matches, the team chasing has won 16 times. 12 matches of T20 World Cup 2021 have been played on this ground, out of which 10 have been won by the same team whose captain has won the toss. The chasing team has hit the ground in 11 out of 12 matches in Dubai. Considering the pressure of the final, if any team from Australia-New Zealand decides to bat first after winning the toss, then they will have to get at least 180 runs on the score board. Because out of the last 20 T20 matches played on the Dubai ground since the year 2018, the team which has crossed the 180 mark in 19 has been confirmed. The result of the remaining one match could not be found.

Six editions of quick cricket have been played, out of which five times the same team has emerged champion in whose favor the six has been tossed. Only in the year 2009, despite losing the toss against Sri Lanka, Pakistan’s team was successful in winning the title. In the World Cup being played on the soil of UAE and Oman, 17 out of 25 matches have been won by the same team which has won the toss. That is, the picture is clear that the team winning the toss in Dubai has more chances to win the title.

Related news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this