T20 World Cup 2021 What Happened in The Previous Six Finals of world Cup tournament


New Delhi. Australia will take on New Zealand in the final of the seventh edition of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. This tournament promises to be an exciting encounter with both the teams. Both the teams have won 5-5 matches so far and they have to face defeat in one each. No team has won a single title in this format so far, Australia and New Zealand. In such a situation, the eyes of both the teams are on making history. Ahead of the final, let’s take a look back at the title matches of the last six editions of this mega event.

T20 World Cup 2007 Final – India vs Pakistan
India played in the final of the inaugural World Championship against their arch-rivals Pakistan at the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg. Batting first, India managed to make a challenging score of 157 runs for the loss of five wickets. In this match against Pakistan, India’s Gautam Gambhir scored the highest 75 runs while Umar Gul took three wickets. Chasing the target, Pakistan was continuously losing wickets, but Misbah-ul-Haq kept their hopes alive by deepening the game. Six runs were needed from the last 4 balls. During this, Misbah tried to scoop Joginder Sharma at short fine leg, but the timing could not be right and S Sreesanth took the catch to create history. Irfan Pathan was adjudged ‘Player of the Match’ for his match-winning spell of 3/16.

T20 World Cup 2021: 10 players who will not be seen in the 2022 World Cup!

T20 World Cup 2009 Final – Pakistan vs Sri Lanka
Pakistan defeated Sri Lanka in the second edition of the T20 World Cup. Sri Lanka batted first. But he was reduced to 138 runs in 20 overs. Kumar Sangakkara remained unbeaten on 64. Abdul Razzaq took three wickets for Pakistan and gave only 20 runs in these three overs. Pakistan was cautious in chasing runs and Shahid Afridi, who came at number three, played a brilliant innings of 54* for 40 runs and guided his team to victory. When Pakistan won the trophy, he was adjudged the ‘Player of the Match’ for his all-round performance.

T20 World Cup 2010 Final – England vs Australia
England and Australia faced each other in the final match played in Barbados. England captain Paul Collingwood won the toss and bowled first and his bowlers restricted Australia to 147 runs in 20 overs. England did not start well and lost opener Michael Lumb in the second over. Kevin Pietersen joined hands with Craig Kieswetter and the pair added 111 runs for the second wicket. Captain Collingwood deflected Watson off the last ball of the 17th over of mid-wicket as England won their first ICC trophy.

NZ vs AUS, T20 WC Final: KKR’s explosive batsman to replace Devon Conway

T20 World Cup 2012 Final – West Indies vs Sri Lanka
This edition was held in Sri Lanka and the hosts played the final match against West Indies at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo. Darren Sammy won the toss and batted first and West Indies could score only 137 runs for the loss of six wickets on a sluggish pitch. Ajantha Mendis took four wickets for the hosts. West Indies were not going to give up easily and, thanks to three wickets from Sunil Narine, Sri Lanka were bundled out for 101 runs in the 19th over. Marlon Samuels was the ‘Man of the Match’ with an innings of 78 runs.

T20 World Cup 2014 Final – India vs Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka entered the final of the T20 World Cup for the second year in a row and played against former champions India. Sri Lanka won the toss and decided to bowl first. The Indian batsmen could never go on a slow track and could only get 130 runs on the board. In which Virat Kohli remained as the top scorer. After a poor start, Kumar Sangakkara scored an unbeaten 52* to get his team the trophy.

T20 World Cup 2016 Final – West Indies vs England
West Indies defeated England in the 2016 final at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata. England scored 155 with Joe Root’s half-century. West Indies had a poor start and at one point their score was 11/3. After this, Dwayne Bravo and Marlon Samuels put together 75 runs for the fourth wicket. West Indies needed 19 runs to win in the last over. Carlos Brathwaite then registered a spectacular victory by hitting four consecutive sixes off Ben Stokes. With this, West Indies became the only team to win the title twice.

Read Hindi News see more online Live TV News18 Hindi website. Know related to country and abroad and your state, Bollywood, sports world, business News in Hindi,


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this