The Ashes 2023: Ashes will be special for Australia’s Nathan Lyon, will achieve big achievement

New Delhi. Ashes-2023: After beating Team India in the final of the World Test Championship, the Australian team is now preparing for the important Ashes. The first match of the five-Test Ashes series will be played at Edgbaston from June 16. Apart from the matches between India and Pakistan, if there is excitement and rivalry in the matches of two other countries, then it is England and Australia (Australia vs England). Obviously, the eyes of cricket lovers around the world will be focused on the Ashes match.

Under the leadership of Ben Stokes and coach Brendon McCullum, the format of the England team has completely changed and it is playing aggressive cricket at the moment. England is the host of the Ashes this time, so both the teams are expected to have a tough fight. The Ashes is personally very important for off-spinner Nathan Lyon, who took four wickets in the second innings against India in the WTC final.

13 ‘victims’ away from 500 Test wickets
Lion, 35, can complete his 500 victims in Test cricket by taking 13 wickets in this series. Anyway, Lion is considered to be such a bowler who is capable of achieving success on any country’s pitch, in such a situation, the Kangaroo team is expecting him to complete 500 wickets as well as make a significant contribution to the Test series win. If Lion is successful in doing so, then he will be the 8th bowler in the world to make a place in this elite club. Lion has so far taken 487 wickets in 120 Test matches at an average of 31.03 and there is every possibility that he will be able to touch the figure of 500 by taking 13 wickets in five Tests.

Bowlers with 500 or more wickets in Test cricket
Muttiah Muralitharan (Sri Lanka) – 800 wickets
Shane Warne (Australia) – 708 wickets
James Anderson (England) – 685 wickets
Anil Kumble (India) – 619 wickets
Stuart Broad (England) – 582 wickets
Glenn McGrath (Australia) – 563 wickets
Courtney Walsh (West Indies) – 519 wickets

The two teams for the Ashes are like this..
England: Ben Stokes (c), James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Stuart Broad, Harry Brook, Moeen Ali, Jack Crawley, Ben Duckett, Dan Lawrence, Jack Leach, Olly Pope, Matthew Potts, Olly Robinson, Joe Root, Josh Tongue, Chris Woakes and Mark Wood.
Australia: David Warner, Marcus Harris, Marnus Lubchen, Matt Renshaw, Steve Smith, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Cameron Green, Mitchell Marsh, Alex Carey, Jimmy Pearson, Josh Inglis, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Pat Cummins (c) , Scott Boland and Todd Murphy.

Tags: Ashes Series, Australia Cricket Team, Australia vs England, Nathan Lyon, WTC Final

Leave a Comment