‘This is WTC Final, not a minor match…’ Shami raged over Gill’s catch controversy, questions raised on umpiring!


Mohammed Shami also got angry on Shubman Gill’s catch controversy
He has spoken a lot about umpiring

New Delhi. On the fourth day of the World Test Championship final being played between India and Australia, there was a controversy over the third umpire’s decision to give Shubman Gill caught out. After the end of the fourth day’s play on this matter, Mohammed Shami said whether Cameron Green had taken Gill’s catch cleanly or not? Third umpire Richard Kettlebrough should have taken a little more time before reaching this conclusion.

In the press conference on the fourth day, Mohammed Shami was asked about the controversial decision to give Gill out, and he said, “Yes, the umpires could have taken a little more time. Because it was the final of the World Test Championship, it was not a normal match that you could let go. Whether the catch was caught properly or not, it should have been examined more thoroughly. You could have taken more time. But, well it’s part of the game. Now there is not much to say about it. The umpire took the decision. We are not thinking too much. Let’s see what happens tomorrow (Sunday).”

WTC Final: Was the catch by Cameron Green of Shubman Gill legal? Know what the rule says

Shubman Gill was caught in the slip in the 8th over of India’s second innings while trying to play a shot on an out-of-bounds ball from Scott Boland. However, there was controversy over his dismissal. Because it was not clear even in the TV replays that Green had caught his catch very clearly. It seemed that the ball had touched the ground. In such a situation, when it was not clear even through the cameras that the catch was caught correctly, then Gill should have got the benefit of the doubt. But third umpire Richard Catelbrough declared Gill out. He could only score 18 runs.

Tags: Cameron Green, India vs Australia, Mohammed Shami, Shubman Gill, World Test Championship Final, WTC

Leave a Comment