Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022: Jackson’s century on Rituraj, Saurashtra became the champion


Saurashtra captured the Vijay Hazare Trophy for the second time
Saurashtra became champion by defeating Maharashtra team by 5 wickets in the final
Sheldon Jackson played an unbeaten inning of 133 runs

New Delhi. Vijay Hazare Trophy has got its 21st winner. The winner of the tournament was decided in the match played between Maharashtra and Saurashtra on Friday, 2 December. Saurashtra’s team won the title of the tournament for the second time by winning the match by 5 wickets. Batting first, the Maharashtra team scored 248 runs for 9 wickets on the basis of Rituraj Gaikwad’s century. In response, Sheldon Jackson’s innings of 133 runs helped the team achieve the target in 46.3 overs and win by 5 wickets.

Jackson’s century heavy on Rituraj

Batting first, Rituraj played a brilliant century in trouble for Maharashtra. The captain played an excellent inning of 108 runs in 131 balls with the help of 7 fours and 6 sixes. Saurashtra’s Sheldon Jackson scored 133 runs in 136 balls with 12 fours and 5 sixes to lead the team to victory. During this, he shared a 125-run partnership with Harvik Desai for the first wicket. This partnership became the ladder of victory for the team.

Saurashtra became champion for the second time

Saurashtra team defeated Maharashtra by 5 wickets and won the Vijay Hazare Trophy for the second time. Earlier in the year 2007, the Saurashtra team won against Bengal and the team won this title for the first time. The Tamil Nadu team has captured this trophy maximum 5 times.

Tags: Ruturaj Gaikwad, vijay hazare trophy

Leave a Comment