Vijay Hazare Trophy: Virat’s century knocks Delhi out of knockout race, Jharkhand’s fifth win


Jharkhand beat Delhi by 5 wickets.
Delhi is out of the knockout race after three defeats in the tournament.

New Delhi. Jharkhand has defeated the Delhi team by 5 wickets in the Vijay Hazare Trophy. After the defeats against Karnataka and Rajasthan, the team was hoping to make a comeback in the tournament. But Jharkhand dashed the hopes of the team. This is Delhi’s third defeat in the tournament and with this the team is out of the race for knockout matches. Although, three players including the team’s captain Nitish Rana played half-century innings, but unfortunately Delhi has got disappointment.

Batting first in this match, the Delhi team set a target of 260 runs in front of Jharkhand. Ayush Badoni played an excellent inning of 91 runs in 69 balls with 9 fours and 4 sixes. At the same time, team captain Nitish Rana scored 52 runs in 51 balls. Apart from this, young batsman Yash Dhull also contributed for the team by scoring 78 runs in 49 balls. But the bowlers of the team succumbed against Jharkhand.

Brilliant innings by Virat Singh

Chasing the target of 260 runs, the start of Jharkhand was not good. The opener of the team returned to the pavilion early. But the captain of the team, Virat Singh, who came to bat at number three, started troubling the bowlers. He played a match-winning inning of 116 runs in 128 balls with the help of 14 fours and 2 sixes. Apart from this, Kumar Kushagra scored 49 runs in 40 balls. Jharkhand achieved the target with 7 balls to spare.

Dinesh Karthik targeted the organizers of Vijay Hazare Trophy, raised a big question on Twitter

Jharkhand won 5 matches in the tournament

Jharkhand’s team has reached 20 points after defeating Delhi. Jharkhand has played a total of 6 matches in the entire tournament so far, out of which the team has won 5 matches. After being out of the knockout race, the Delhi team will play their last match in the tournament on 23 November against Assam.

Tags: New Delhi, Nitish rana, vijay hazare trophy

Leave a Comment