India scored 262 runs in the first innings.
Virat Kohli remained 6 runs away from the half century.
New Delhi. The second Test of the series between India and Australia is hanging in the balance. On the second day, there was a close fight between the two teams. Australia had put 263 runs in front of India, but Team India had lost five of its batsmen within 100. Team India was dominated by Nathan Lyon, who could not do anything special in the last match. After the fall of the first three wickets, all eyes were on former captain Virat Kohli.
Virat was seen in good rhythm on the second day. But his luck did not support him, he became the victim of a controversial out. Which remains a topic of constant discussion. Virat tried to defend on the ball of Mathew Kunnemann and on the other side umpire Nitin Menon had raised his finger. Now Virat took the review, but it was so fine that even the camera umpire could not clear it. In the end, Kohli was declared out. On seeing the third umpire, the ball was seen hitting both the bat and the pad simultaneously. Virat also expressed his displeasure in the dressing room regarding this.
What does the ICC rule say?
According to the ICC rules, if the ball hits the bat and the pad simultaneously, then in such a situation the ball will be considered to have hit the bat first. If seen in this way, Virat Kohli was not out. However, after Kohli’s dismissal, India’s star all-rounder Akshar Patel took over the innings. He made a century partnership with R Ashwin. Akshar played a blistering inning of 74 runs. Due to which Team India reached 262 runs.
First read breaking news in Hindi News18 Hindi| Read today’s latest news, live news updates, most reliable Hindi news website News18 Hindi.
Tags: Border Gavaskar Trophy, India vs Australia, Nitin Menon, team india, Virat Kohli
FIRST PUBLISHED : February 18, 2023, 19:21 IST