World Cup History: Not even 50 years of Cricket World Cup have been completed, now 3 types of big events started happening

New Delhi. Today is a very special day for cricket. 47 years ago, on this day on 7 June 1975, the Men’s Cricket World Cup was started. The International Cricket Council (ICC) has since included a new format in cricket and now new tournaments are also being held. T20 World Cup started in 2007. This is the shortest format of the game. At the same time, to make the oldest format test of the game exciting, now its World Cup i.e. World Test Championship (WTC) match is being played. That is, even 50 years of the World Cup have not been completed yet and it has seen a lot of changes. Let us give you information about its history in detail.

The first 2 World Cups of cricket were held in England in 1975 and 1979 and both times the West Indies team became the champion. After this till date, she has not been able to win the title of ODI World Cup. That is, for 43 years, the Windies team is waiting for this title. It was organized jointly in England and Wales in 1983. In the title match, the Indian team captained by Kapil Dev created history by defeating West Indies and won the title for the first time. In the first season of the World Cup, a total of 15 matches were played between 8 teams. At the same time, in the last season in 2019, there were 48 matches between 10 teams.

First 3 World Cups were played of 60 overs

The first 3 seasons of the ODI World Cup were played in 60 overs. That is, there were 60 overs in every innings. From 1987 it was reduced to 50 overs, which continues even today. If we look at the history of the ODI World Cup, so far a total of 20 teams have entered it. But only 6 teams have been successful in winning at least one title. Australia’s team is the most successful team of the tournament. He has won the title 5 times. West Indies and India won the final 2-2 times. At the same time, the teams of Pakistan, Sri Lanka and England have done this once each.

T20 also got place

T20 has become the most favorite format of cricket today. Today all the big countries are organizing T20 leagues here. The ICC started the T20 World Cup from 2007. Team India won the title of the first season. Till now a total of 7 season matches have been played and 6 teams have become champions here too. West Indies have also won the title twice. Apart from this, the teams of Australia, Sri Lanka, England and Pakistan have also become champions once. The 8th season of the T20 league is to be held in Australia in October-November this year.

IND vs SA: Rishabh Pant hits Umran Malik’s ball, it is difficult to get a chance in the first match!

New Zealand won the title of the first season

After the advent of T20, the interest of the fans about Test cricket started decreasing. In view of this, the ICC started the World Test Championship from 2019. In the final of the first season held in 2021, New Zealand won the title by defeating India. Its second season is being organized between 2021 and 2023. The ICC is looking to continue this continuously, so that Test cricket can be kept alive.

Tags: BCCI, ICC, ODI World Cup, T20 World Cup, world cup, world test championship

Leave a Comment