Wrestlers vs WFI: Wrestlers end strike, decision taken on assurance of Sports Minister, agreement made on these things

New Delhi: The sit-in demonstration by the country’s top wrestlers against the Wrestling Federation of India (WFI) and its president Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh at Delhi’s Jantar Mantar since January 18 has come to an end. Wrestlers decided to suspend their protest after Union Sports Minister Anurag Thakur announced a committee to look into the allegations against the WFI chief after a meeting with the wrestlers late on Friday and assured them of a fair probe. . The Indian Olympic Association has also constituted a 7-member inquiry committee to investigate the allegations against WFI President and BJP MP Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh.

The Sports Ministry will announce the names of the members of the three-member inquiry committee today. This committee will investigate all the allegations against Brijbhushan Sharan Singh and other officials of WFI in 4 weeks and submit its report to the Sports Ministry. Until the investigation is completed, Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh will keep himself away from the WFI and its functioning. In a conversation with reporters on Friday, Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh flatly refused to resign from the post of WFI President. He had said that he has not become the president by anyone’s lobbying or mercy, but has been elected through the voting process.

Anurag Thakur gave assurance of fair investigation
Sports Minister Anurag Thakur said that all the players made serious allegations against the Wrestling Federation of India, what improvements they want in WFI, these things also came to the fore. He said that an Oversight Committee will be constituted, which will complete its investigation in the next 4 weeks. He said that on the very first day of the wrestlers’ protest, we had sought answers from the WFI. Everyone agreed on the demands that were kept in the meeting. The number of women members will be more in the inquiry committee that will be formed. Anurag Thakur said that the IOA committee that has been formed is an internal complaint committee. It will investigate matters related to women in any sports association.

Wrestlers Protest: IOA constitutes 7-member committee to investigate against Brij Bhushan Singh

Bajrang Punia expressed gratitude to the Sports Minister
Bajrang Punia said, ‘I thank everyone. We are confident that there will be a fair investigation. The minister has assured security to the players. The players have received threats earlier from the wrestling association, but the minister has said that we all are with you. Prime Minister Narendra Modi has always supported the players. We did not want to protest, but the water had gone over our heads. I want to thank the media, because we needed your support, which we have got.

Why wrestlers who won medals in Olympics like Bajrang-Sakshi came on the road? Front opened at Jantar Mantar

IOA also constituted a 7-member committee
Earlier on Friday late evening, the Indian Olympic Association (IOA) announced the formation of a 7-member committee headed by 6-time world champion boxer MC Mary Kom, with wrestler Yogeshwar Dutt as its other members, to investigate the allegations of sexual abuse against Brij Bhushan. , archer Dola Banerjee, Indian Weightlifting Federation president Sahdev Yadav, two lawyers Talish Ray and Shlok Chandra and former shuttler Alaknanda Ashok. On the other hand, Brij Bhushan was keeping an eye on the movement happening in Delhi sitting in Gonda. Earlier he had announced to hold a press conference at 4 pm, but late in the evening he canceled it, he did not come in front of the media.

Tags: anurag thakur, BJP MP Brijbhushan Sharan Singh, Wrestling Federation of India

Leave a Comment