Yashasvi Jaiswal created furore with the bat, made 6 big records in debut test itself, now eyeing double century

New Delhi. Yashasvi Jaiswal has registered his name in the record book by scoring a century in the debut test. Talking about the first Test being played in Dominica against the West Indies, at the end of the second day’s play, the Indian team had scored 312 runs for 2 wickets in the first innings. Yashasvi 143 and Virat Kohli is playing after scoring 36 runs. West Indies have scored 150 runs in the first innings. In this way, Team India has got a huge lead of 162 runs and it still has 8 wickets left. Captain Rohit Sharma also played a century inning of 103 runs in the match. Rohit and Yashasvi also made a big partnership of 229 runs for the first wicket. Yashasvi has made more than 6 records in his name so far. They can also demolish many other big records.

In the successful debut test of 21 years, he has become the batsman who played the most balls for India. He has faced 350 balls so far. Scored 143 runs with the help of 14 fours. Earlier, the record of playing the most in the debut test was in the name of former captain Mohammad Azharuddin. He faced 322 balls against England at Eden Gardens in 1984. During this, he also scored 110 runs.

Centuries in all four major tournaments
Mumbai’s Yashasvi Jaiswal scored a double century while making his Duleep Trophy debut last year. Then in 2022 itself, while making his debut for India-A, he played a century. In his first match of Irani Trophy in 2023, he scored a century and a double century. Now a century in Test debut. He is the first Indian to score a century in his first match of all four major tournaments. Yashasvi has even won the Under-19 World Cup title from India.

Mumbai players hit the last four centuries
Yashasvi Jaiswal hit a century in the debut test. Earlier, Shreyas Iyer did this in 2021-22, Prithvi Shaw in 2018-19 and Rohit Sharma in 2013-14. That is, the last four players who scored a century in the debut test are from Mumbai only. He is the third Indian to score a century against the West Indies in the debut test. Earlier in 2013, Rohit Sharma scored 177 and in 2018, Prithvi Shaw scored 134 runs. Both the players had played century innings at home. On the other hand, Yashasvi went to West Indies’ house and played a blistering innings.

became the first opening pair
Yashasvi Jaiswal and Rohit Sharma added 229 runs for the first wicket. While West Indies scored 150 runs in the first innings. In this way, the pair of Yashasvi and Rohit has also become the first pair to give lead to Team India without losing a wicket. Rohit and Yashasvi have become players with a big partnership for the first wicket outside Asia. Earlier this record was in the name of Chetan Chauhan and Sunil Gavaskar. He added 213 runs for the first wicket against England in 1979 at the Oval.

These 2 records on target
Yashasvi Jaiswal will go down to make 2 more big records on Friday, the third day of the match. If he scores 8 more runs, he will go ahead of West Indies’ score alone. On the other hand, if Yashasvi manages to score a double century, then he will become the first Indian to do so in the debut test. Currently, Shikhar Dhawan holds the record for scoring the highest score in debut test. He scored 187 against Australia in Mohali in 2013. At the same time, Rohit has played an inning of 177 runs against the West Indies at Eden Gardens. Apart from these two, no other Indian has been able to score more than 150 runs in the debut test.

VIDEO: Coach’s ‘standing ovation’ on Yashasvi Jaiswal’s Fifty, Dravid, Jadeja and others honored like this

Yashasvi Jaiswal is the 17th player from India to score a century in Test debut. For the first time Lala Amarnath did this against England in 1933. He scored 118 runs in Mumbai. Apart from this, Deepak Sodhan in 1952, Kirpal Singh in 1955, Abbas Ali in 1959, Hanumant Singh in 1964, Gundappa Vishwanath in 1969, Mohinder Amarnath in 1976, Mohammad Azharuddin in 1984, Pravin Amre in 1992, Sourav Ganguly did it in 1996, Virender Sehwag in 2001, Suresh Raina in 2010, Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma in 2013, Prithvi Shaw in 2018 and Shreyas Iyer in 2021.

Tags: india vs west indies, team india, Yashasvi Jaiswal

Leave a Comment